Connecting a YouView box to Wifi?

12346»

Comments

• RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,108 ✭✭✭
    edited 7 December 2016, 7:39AM
    Keith1 said:

There are several other topics that include info about connecting the YouView box via wifi:

http://community.youview.com/youview/...

From these the main suggestions that people have confirmed as working are

- TP Link TL-WR702N 150Mbps Wireless N Nano Router
    - Apple Airport Express
    - Netgear Universal Wifi Internet Adapter
    - Netgear WGPS606

Partly out of curiosity I tried the TP Link TL-WR702N (powered from the YouView box USB port) recently and so far it has been fine (although I'm not a particularly heavy on-demand user).

I have no practical experience of this, but from the manual:-

http://www.tp-link.com/resources/docu...

I'd figure you want to connect the WR702N to the YouView box, ethernet and power over USB, but then use a laptop to start the Quick Installation Mode 3.2 on page 11, and then select Client Mode when you get to the screen 3.5, Working Mode, and then work through 3.2.5, where you definitely get the option (and requirement!) to set the TalkTalk router SSID and other parameters. Be sure to carry out all of steps 1-3 under 3.2.5, including the reboot.

After this, hopefully, the YouView box will 'see through' the WR702N to the TalkTalk router, and you will get the On Demand.

The Internet channels are multicast; I'm hoping that the WR702N will handle multicast without further configuration, and that the TalkTalk router will do multicast over wifi (the BT Home Hub certainly won't, but I believe somebody said their TalkTalk router was OK with this).

But first things first, and if you can at least get, say, the BBC iPlayer, we can go from there if the TalkTalk added IP channels still won't behave.

Do let us know how you get on and, if it now works, then AAMOI, what step(s) you omitted originally.

This will help advise the next would-be WR702N user who hits problems.