Forum feedback on MyTV in Next Gen software

1202123252628

Comments

  • fluff yfluff y Member Posts: 3
    edited 30 May 2017, 8:51PM
    Just turned on box to be told an update had been applied and now only have the tile view. 

    Posting to add a vote to adding an option for list view.  We received no notification an update was pending or what it would do. To just send it out and not give warning or an option and to choose to take away functionality rather than having options is pretty poor treatment of customers.
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 May 2017, 9:39PM
    fluff y said:

    Just turned on box to be told an update had been applied and now only have the tile view. 

    Posting to add a vote to adding an option for list view.  We received no notification an update was pending or what it would do. To just send it out and not give warning or an option and to choose to take away functionality rather than having options is pretty poor treatment of customers.

    Sorry to hear that it has come as a shock. Where did you get your box from? You should have been prompted at some point to read and accept T&Cs.
  • GrundersGrunders Member Posts: 131
    edited 29 May 2017, 11:02PM
    fluff y said:

    Just turned on box to be told an update had been applied and now only have the tile view. 

    Posting to add a vote to adding an option for list view.  We received no notification an update was pending or what it would do. To just send it out and not give warning or an option and to choose to take away functionality rather than having options is pretty poor treatment of customers.

    Sadly and unfortunately it's going to get worse for you. Over the next few days you will see all manner of bugs, speed and performance issues and much loved usability methods removed out of your grasp. In return you will be given lots of frustration and reasons to complain and laugh at the poor quality of what was once a decent bit of kit.
  • fluff yfluff y Member Posts: 3
    edited 29 May 2017, 9:51PM
    fluff y said:

    Just turned on box to be told an update had been applied and now only have the tile view. 

    Posting to add a vote to adding an option for list view.  We received no notification an update was pending or what it would do. To just send it out and not give warning or an option and to choose to take away functionality rather than having options is pretty poor treatment of customers.

    Bought from John Lewis. Inlaws have just bought a TV with it built in. Hope theirs doesn't change suddenly would lead to lots of phone calls.
  • GrundersGrunders Member Posts: 131
    edited 29 May 2017, 9:55PM
    fluff y said:

    Just turned on box to be told an update had been applied and now only have the tile view. 

    Posting to add a vote to adding an option for list view.  We received no notification an update was pending or what it would do. To just send it out and not give warning or an option and to choose to take away functionality rather than having options is pretty poor treatment of customers.

    I would urge you/them to go into settings and disable the auto-software update whilst you still can. (Hell knows I wish I had).
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,955 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 May 2017, 10:49PM
    fluff y said:

    Just turned on box to be told an update had been applied and now only have the tile view. 

    Posting to add a vote to adding an option for list view.  We received no notification an update was pending or what it would do. To just send it out and not give warning or an option and to choose to take away functionality rather than having options is pretty poor treatment of customers.

    Bad advice, Grunders :-(

    He said 'TV', and the Sony YouView TVs aren't getting this update.

    Whereas they do need all the help, in the form of updates, they can get with the Android OS on these TVs :-(
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • fluff yfluff y Member Posts: 3
    edited 30 May 2017, 6:50PM
    fluff y said:

    Just turned on box to be told an update had been applied and now only have the tile view. 

    Posting to add a vote to adding an option for list view.  We received no notification an update was pending or what it would do. To just send it out and not give warning or an option and to choose to take away functionality rather than having options is pretty poor treatment of customers.

    Good news re inlaws, change is not good for them. 

    Just a shame we're stuck with it. If it was added as an option great but compulsory swap from list to grid is bad. Before that I'd have been fairly keen to recommend the system
  • Sandy1Sandy1 Member Posts: 44
    edited 6 August 2017, 1:17AM

    That, is very favourable, thank you for the update. You see, all people want, is comms! Cheers

    I was asked to contact YouView Support and there was a link to this website in their reply.  So here I am again.

     

    I see that it is the same old faces stating the same old replies. 

    Perhaps YouView will base what upgrades the will carry out, dependent upon the amount out statements for and against a particular point - I must get posting!! :-)

     

    Anyway. The pro forma reply I received from YouView, gave no hint of bringing back a list view for MyTV.

    Also, the reply at the head of this page states similar.

     

    I can only say that if this software had been produced for a paying customer in an industrial control room, it would have been rejected.

    Its use is not natural or intuitive.

     

    But, I'm not paying for YouView so I just have to put up with it.

    This upgrade has been in use for a long time. 

    Considering the amount of complaints about the lack of a list of recordings in MyTV, here and in other places, it is amazing that YouView still will not state that a listing will return to MyTV recordings.
  • Chris A.Chris A. Member Posts: 75
    edited 6 August 2017, 1:19AM

    That, is very favourable, thank you for the update. You see, all people want, is comms! Cheers

    Here here. Seems they have no interest in listening to customers as the return of the list view - even as an option - is surely the single most requested revision. I mean, from what I see there is only Roy and that odd 'Visionman' feller, who want the tiles to stay. And I'm pretty sure both of those guys are simply being contrary for contraries sake. Bring back the lists!
  • Sandy1Sandy1 Member Posts: 44
    edited 2 June 2017, 6:43PM
    Visionman said:

    I'd just like to recommend that if you have a forward thinking attitude, are willing to try new things and are prepared to give up your own time to provide feature testing activities and feedback, becoming a trialist can be a a very rewarding activity.
    Be warned though, the majority of people on the trials forum like the tiles, with a tweak or two here or there, of course. :)

    Trialists like the tiles.  Obviously the trialists will like the tiles.  They were the ones who told YouView how wonderful they were.  From the feedback I've seen, the trialists were not a representative sample of YouView users.  YouView just needs to recognise this.  Of course the trialists must also have liked illogical use of buttons in other operations.
  • KeithKeith Member, Super User Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭
    edited 6 August 2017, 1:29AM
    Visionman said:

    I'd just like to recommend that if you have a forward thinking attitude, are willing to try new things and are prepared to give up your own time to provide feature testing activities and feedback, becoming a trialist can be a a very rewarding activity.
    Be warned though, the majority of people on the trials forum like the tiles, with a tweak or two here or there, of course. :)

    Without disclosing any confidential info, I would say it is fair to say the full range of opinions and issues were raised by trialists and thus captured before any public roll out began. One could further note all those issues were broadly captured again on day one of the public rollout.

    Of the 1000 or so people who have so far come to this forum to give feedback, the numbers voicing support for tiles is small (but then not many people come to forums to say thanks and talk about what they like). What the other 2.5m or so users think we can only speculate. I look forward to seeing future quarterly customer numbers for BT and TalkTalk which may give some indication of whether people are indeed voting with their feet/subscriptions and going elsewhere (although the choice of elsewhere without tiles is limited).

    Personally I would implement an option for tiles or lists to better cater for the range of needs, and in particular for those that have indicated some accessibility issues are better served by a text list. YouView rarely publicly say what they are considering so we may not get any inkling as to whether such an option will appear unless it is planned and about to be released. On rare occasions YouView do come out and explicitly say they are not going to do something (e.g. intelligent padding options rather than just relying on accurate recording signals).
  • lloydoflondonlloydoflondon Member Posts: 296
    edited 7 August 2017, 12:17AM
    Now the update is more than a few weeks old just another observation and annoyance to feedback.
    1) Colour scheme is nice (Talk Talk customer with a Humax box here)
    2) Why can't the 'Tile design' be consistent? We have on the main pages of 'My view' the 12 tile layout, but when entering the recording folder for a particular series we are then presented with the linear layout so derided earlier. This leaves a huge amount of empty screen space (bigger than my old portable 18 inch TV I bought as a student) for the two line episode description. If you're going to design something with a 'look & feel' keep the design consistent.
    3) This is why I am posting today. I had to factory reset my tablet and after downloading the Youview App I tried to pair the box with the app and no luck. There is nowhere, when entering 'Mobile devices' to connect the two together. You can disconnect current devices, but that's it. 
  • StephenStephen Member Posts: 755 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 2 June 2017, 7:00PM

    Now the update is more than a few weeks old just another observation and annoyance to feedback.
    1) Colour scheme is nice (Talk Talk customer with a Humax box here)
    2) Why can't the 'Tile design' be consistent? We have on the main pages of 'My view' the 12 tile layout, but when entering the recording folder for a particular series we are then presented with the linear layout so derided earlier. This leaves a huge amount of empty screen space (bigger than my old portable 18 inch TV I bought as a student) for the two line episode description. If you're going to design something with a 'look & feel' keep the design consistent.
    3) This is why I am posting today. I had to factory reset my tablet and after downloading the Youview App I tried to pair the box with the app and no luck. There is nowhere, when entering 'Mobile devices' to connect the two together. You can disconnect current devices, but that's it. 

    With regards to 3, do you have an old phone? You may wish to see here:
    https://community.youview.com/youview/topics/is-there-a-way-to-connect-the-old-iphone-app-to-the-new...
  • lloydoflondonlloydoflondon Member Posts: 296
    edited 2 June 2017, 7:05PM

    Now the update is more than a few weeks old just another observation and annoyance to feedback.
    1) Colour scheme is nice (Talk Talk customer with a Humax box here)
    2) Why can't the 'Tile design' be consistent? We have on the main pages of 'My view' the 12 tile layout, but when entering the recording folder for a particular series we are then presented with the linear layout so derided earlier. This leaves a huge amount of empty screen space (bigger than my old portable 18 inch TV I bought as a student) for the two line episode description. If you're going to design something with a 'look & feel' keep the design consistent.
    3) This is why I am posting today. I had to factory reset my tablet and after downloading the Youview App I tried to pair the box with the app and no luck. There is nowhere, when entering 'Mobile devices' to connect the two together. You can disconnect current devices, but that's it. 

     This is why I am posting today. I had to factory reset my tablet and after downloading the Youview App I tried to pair the box with the app and no luck. There is nowhere, when entering 'Mobile devices' to connect the two together. You can disconnect current devices, but that's it. 
  • StephenStephen Member Posts: 755 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 2 June 2017, 7:08PM

    Now the update is more than a few weeks old just another observation and annoyance to feedback.
    1) Colour scheme is nice (Talk Talk customer with a Humax box here)
    2) Why can't the 'Tile design' be consistent? We have on the main pages of 'My view' the 12 tile layout, but when entering the recording folder for a particular series we are then presented with the linear layout so derided earlier. This leaves a huge amount of empty screen space (bigger than my old portable 18 inch TV I bought as a student) for the two line episode description. If you're going to design something with a 'look & feel' keep the design consistent.
    3) This is why I am posting today. I had to factory reset my tablet and after downloading the Youview App I tried to pair the box with the app and no luck. There is nowhere, when entering 'Mobile devices' to connect the two together. You can disconnect current devices, but that's it. 

    I do apologise, but the question still stands, do you have an old tablet? What OS and version thereof does it run?
  • El Dingo HarrisonEl Dingo Harrison Member Posts: 9
    edited 2 June 2017, 8:53PM
    Daniel4 said:

    If you dump the tiles I will dump youview into the nearest skip. I had issues with my view lists I have vision issues and sometimes struggled to see the text in the list view of youview classic. I'm managing to find my recordings a lot better and don't have to ask my wife to find a specific recording now. If you go back to the terrible list view only I mean it I will dump youview. A option in the settings would be good to specify if you want list view or tiles then you please everyone. Please keep the tiles. My TV is my favorite feature of next gen.

    Wow, I also have vision issues and hate the tiles. I much preferred the list view. Ah well, you live and learn.
  • lloydoflondonlloydoflondon Member Posts: 296
    edited 7 August 2017, 12:17AM

    Hide Channels (or not as the case is at the moment).

    Please bring back asap the ability to hide channels. This was something us original testers requested 5 years ago.

    My EPG has now been invaded by a shopping channel, in the 200's (streaming services), where I have previously hidden all the shopping, text and 'adult' services, I fear that when the national August EPG reshuffle comes about I'll experience a further invasion of unwanted channels, without the ability to hide them.

    In an ideal world deleting them forever was always my preferred option for us trialists way back in the day.

  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭
    edited 16 June 2017, 1:45PM

    Hide Channels (or not as the case is at the moment).

    Please bring back asap the ability to hide channels. This was something us original testers requested 5 years ago.

    My EPG has now been invaded by a shopping channel, in the 200's (streaming services), where I have previously hidden all the shopping, text and 'adult' services, I fear that when the national August EPG reshuffle comes about I'll experience a further invasion of unwanted channels, without the ability to hide them.

    In an ideal world deleting them forever was always my preferred option for us trialists way back in the day.

    As has been said often, this feature is slated to come back. What is undeniably frustrating is the length of time we have been waiting. Not sure how you could delete a channel "forever" though, short of taking out their transmitters?
  • alal Member, Super User Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭
    edited 16 June 2017, 2:02PM

    Hide Channels (or not as the case is at the moment).

    Please bring back asap the ability to hide channels. This was something us original testers requested 5 years ago.

    My EPG has now been invaded by a shopping channel, in the 200's (streaming services), where I have previously hidden all the shopping, text and 'adult' services, I fear that when the national August EPG reshuffle comes about I'll experience a further invasion of unwanted channels, without the ability to hide them.

    In an ideal world deleting them forever was always my preferred option for us trialists way back in the day.

    I recently had to rescan my youview box to a different transmitter. I was surprised to see a section that told me how many channels were still hidden after the rescan. Rightly or wrongly it gives me hope that this bit is there (still there?) so the hiding mechanism will soon return.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,955 ✭✭✭
    edited 16 July 2017, 4:25PM

    Now the update is more than a few weeks old just another observation and annoyance to feedback.
    1) Colour scheme is nice (Talk Talk customer with a Humax box here)
    2) Why can't the 'Tile design' be consistent? We have on the main pages of 'My view' the 12 tile layout, but when entering the recording folder for a particular series we are then presented with the linear layout so derided earlier. This leaves a huge amount of empty screen space (bigger than my old portable 18 inch TV I bought as a student) for the two line episode description. If you're going to design something with a 'look & feel' keep the design consistent.
    3) This is why I am posting today. I had to factory reset my tablet and after downloading the Youview App I tried to pair the box with the app and no luck. There is nowhere, when entering 'Mobile devices' to connect the two together. You can disconnect current devices, but that's it. 

    I am always amazed when these conversations just....stop, when the proffered help demands the slightest of input from the aggrieved party.

    Did they give up? Did they fix it for themselves? Was it not really broken at all?

    It looks like we will never know in most cases, unless the poster in question returns.

    At which point, it would be nice to know what happened,

    But..... VVV......
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,955 ✭✭✭
    edited 16 June 2017, 5:14PM

    Hide Channels (or not as the case is at the moment).

    Please bring back asap the ability to hide channels. This was something us original testers requested 5 years ago.

    My EPG has now been invaded by a shopping channel, in the 200's (streaming services), where I have previously hidden all the shopping, text and 'adult' services, I fear that when the national August EPG reshuffle comes about I'll experience a further invasion of unwanted channels, without the ability to hide them.

    In an ideal world deleting them forever was always my preferred option for us trialists way back in the day.

    NextGen can perfectly well handle channels hidden under CurrentGen. What you can't yet do is maintain the list of them (or possibly the tiles of them, when this feature returns)

    :-)
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭
    edited 16 June 2017, 5:16PM

    Hide Channels (or not as the case is at the moment).

    Please bring back asap the ability to hide channels. This was something us original testers requested 5 years ago.

    My EPG has now been invaded by a shopping channel, in the 200's (streaming services), where I have previously hidden all the shopping, text and 'adult' services, I fear that when the national August EPG reshuffle comes about I'll experience a further invasion of unwanted channels, without the ability to hide them.

    In an ideal world deleting them forever was always my preferred option for us trialists way back in the day.

    Sadly there never was a list, it was just all, or nothing in the EPG. With the well known workaround to unhide individual channels, of course.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,955 ✭✭✭
    edited 16 June 2017, 5:33PM

    Hide Channels (or not as the case is at the moment).

    Please bring back asap the ability to hide channels. This was something us original testers requested 5 years ago.

    My EPG has now been invaded by a shopping channel, in the 200's (streaming services), where I have previously hidden all the shopping, text and 'adult' services, I fear that when the national August EPG reshuffle comes about I'll experience a further invasion of unwanted channels, without the ability to hide them.

    In an ideal world deleting them forever was always my preferred option for us trialists way back in the day.

    Ah, to clarify, I meant Hiding them, not trying to Unhide them.

    But for once, we are hoping that YouView's development team is Hide-bound :-)
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭
    edited 16 June 2017, 5:34PM

    Hide Channels (or not as the case is at the moment).

    Please bring back asap the ability to hide channels. This was something us original testers requested 5 years ago.

    My EPG has now been invaded by a shopping channel, in the 200's (streaming services), where I have previously hidden all the shopping, text and 'adult' services, I fear that when the national August EPG reshuffle comes about I'll experience a further invasion of unwanted channels, without the ability to hide them.

    In an ideal world deleting them forever was always my preferred option for us trialists way back in the day.

    Aye, as opposed to lost!
  • MateybassMateybass Member Posts: 13
    edited 22 June 2017, 4:57PM
    Please, please, please, bring back the hide channels function... I don't want to have to scroll through a load of shopping channels etc. that I will never watch.

    Also when watching live TV in chase play and I pause, when I return to play, the progress bar at the bottom can be cleared with a press of the close button. If I do that in a recording, the programme stops. I just want to be able to rewind and close the bar in a recording to re-read subtitles or view other stuff hidden by the bar without having to rewind further back just to allow for enough time for the bar to autoclose.

    Apart from that I've got used to everything else in this update now.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,955 ✭✭✭
    edited 21 June 2017, 11:40PM
    Mateybass said:

    Please, please, please, bring back the hide channels function... I don't want to have to scroll through a load of shopping channels etc. that I will never watch.

    Also when watching live TV in chase play and I pause, when I return to play, the progress bar at the bottom can be cleared with a press of the close button. If I do that in a recording, the programme stops. I just want to be able to rewind and close the bar in a recording to re-read subtitles or view other stuff hidden by the bar without having to rewind further back just to allow for enough time for the bar to autoclose.

    Apart from that I've got used to everything else in this update now.

    Try 'Back' instead of 'Close' after Pausing a recording.

    I think this will do what you want.

    It will also do it after coming out of Pause on chasing play live, so 'Back' instead of 'Close' works as a consistent strategy everywhere, for this.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • MateybassMateybass Member Posts: 13
    edited 22 June 2017, 2:07PM
    Mateybass said:

    Please, please, please, bring back the hide channels function... I don't want to have to scroll through a load of shopping channels etc. that I will never watch.

    Also when watching live TV in chase play and I pause, when I return to play, the progress bar at the bottom can be cleared with a press of the close button. If I do that in a recording, the programme stops. I just want to be able to rewind and close the bar in a recording to re-read subtitles or view other stuff hidden by the bar without having to rewind further back just to allow for enough time for the bar to autoclose.

    Apart from that I've got used to everything else in this update now.

    Thank you for that, yes it does. I just presumed that the close button would be the obvious choice to close something... oh well...
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,955 ✭✭✭
    edited 22 June 2017, 4:57PM
    Mateybass said:

    Please, please, please, bring back the hide channels function... I don't want to have to scroll through a load of shopping channels etc. that I will never watch.

    Also when watching live TV in chase play and I pause, when I return to play, the progress bar at the bottom can be cleared with a press of the close button. If I do that in a recording, the programme stops. I just want to be able to rewind and close the bar in a recording to re-read subtitles or view other stuff hidden by the bar without having to rewind further back just to allow for enough time for the bar to autoclose.

    Apart from that I've got used to everything else in this update now.

    Yes -when watching a recording, to Close the programme :-)

    Glad that Back works for you, though.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • Steve KSteve K Member Posts: 295
    edited 15 July 2017, 11:53PM
    Well some while later what can I say but ask just how stupid YouView are

    They told me by email they would respond to what was posted in this thread - they've ignored it.  All the issues remain about removing functionality and press ganging existing customers to be beta site testers against their will

    So as I promised I went and bought another Sky Box - was that what you wanted BT?

    And my mobile phone contract was moved to Sky - was that what you wanted BT?

    The broadband and phone will move too when I get to a break point as I now have a real insight into how BT/Youview intend to treat customers.  Or BT/Youview you could do the right thing by posting an apology on this forum, commit to restore lost functionality within weeks and give updates.

    Ball's in your court BT/Youview
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭
    edited 15 July 2017, 12:12PM
    Steve K said:

    Well some while later what can I say but ask just how stupid YouView are

    They told me by email they would respond to what was posted in this thread - they've ignored it.  All the issues remain about removing functionality and press ganging existing customers to be beta site testers against their will

    So as I promised I went and bought another Sky Box - was that what you wanted BT?

    And my mobile phone contract was moved to Sky - was that what you wanted BT?

    The broadband and phone will move too when I get to a break point as I now have a real insight into how BT/Youview intend to treat customers.  Or BT/Youview you could do the right thing by posting an apology on this forum, commit to restore lost functionality within weeks and give updates.

    Ball's in your court BT/Youview

    I didn't think you could buy a Sky box?
Sign In or Register to comment.