[Discussion] Android app update 11.1.9

Philip TrottPhilip Trott Posts: 1,040Administrator admin
Hi all,

Please feel free to feedback on the latest Android app update 11.1.9 in this discussion thread.

Comments

  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,200Member ✭✭✭
    Same issues as for the new iOS version.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,859Member ✭✭
    I'm still having issues on this new version. I have managed to get my new tablet paired up by persistently trying for ten minutes my phone was already paired. No matter what I do though when trying to pair my wife's phone it doesn't pick up any of the boxes and I can't see it been anything on my side as both the tablet and my wife's phone are brand new and everything else on both devices are spot on. At the moment I have told my wife to text me if she is not in and needs to set a recording but she shouldn't have to really. I have had this issue in this version of the app and the last version.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,200Member ✭✭✭
    Android devices are notoriously varied.

    What is the make, model, and Android version of your wife’s phone?

    If it is not a mainstream model, perhaps there is some generic issue with the phone, rather than the app?
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • Not used it extensively yet, but first opinion is Wow, huge improvement, being able to see booked and recorded programmes in MyTV. FAB! Thank you :)
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,859Member ✭✭
    @Roy it's a Motorola Moto z2 force it's currently on android 7.0 software. My tablet is a Samsung tab a 10.1 same version of android. 
  • alal Posts: 1,281Member ✭✭
    I would love to see the edited channel list back on the app. I keep recording (hidden) SD channels by mistake.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,200Member ✭✭✭
    edited 8 February 2018, 3:25PM
    @Phil, @Sarah@Daniel

    There is definitely something wrong with pairing, and I think it is the App.

    On this iPad, pairing finds both my T2000s, and lets me pair to either.

    But on my Samsung Galaxy Young, on Android 4.1.2, it only finds one of the T2000s.

    It will let me pair to it just fine, but it just cannot see the other one. Or if it can, it is not offering it to me.

    Though if I pull the mains from the one it can see, then suddenly it can see the other one.

    Though the dialogue is slightly different, and it just says it has found a box (as if it was the only box) and then lets me pair OK.

    Which perhaps makes the above behaviour look like the Android app can maybe find both boxes, but can’t display both to me?

    Going back to see what the iOS app does, it still offers me both boxes to choose from - even though one of them is still off at the mains.

    Does it need the Ethernet cable to be disconnected as well, or is the router still remembering it, or is the iOS app still remembering it?

    If so, will it forget it after a while, or what? I think it should forget it right away, if it can’t actually reach it.

    Please advise on these many mysteries.

    EDIT: My Nexus 7, on Android 6.0.1, can see both YouView boxes OK. As can my Moto G 1st Gen on 5.1

    @Daniel, I think you have multiple YouView boxes? You could maybe try the mains trick to see if the missing one then appears?
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,859Member ✭✭
    @Roy I have 3 currently. I will post back in a bit and let you know what happens. 
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,859Member ✭✭
    @Roy that's got it paired nice one. It picked it up straight away by unplugging the other boxes. Cheers.
  • SarahSarah Posts: 837Administrator admin
    I'll have a chat with our Mobile team about this. For any others which have the same issue, it's helpful to know the phone model and the Android version it's currently running.

    Thanks!
    Sarah
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,200Member ✭✭✭
    Daniel said:
    @Roy that's got it paired nice one. It picked it up straight away by unplugging the other boxes. Cheers.
    Glad it sorted it for you Daniel.

    I think that is the first piece of advice I have ever given of the form ‘Switch it off, and don’t switch it on again’ (not until the other box is paired, anyway)  :D
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • SarahSarah Posts: 837Administrator admin
    Hi,

    To any users experiencing the issue where they have more than one box but the app is only showing one box, can you please go through the following steps:
    • Try tapping the 'More Details' tab to search for more boxes
    • Check if the affected device has discovery issues with other devices (e.g. Chromecast)
    • Whether turning airplane mode off-and-on on the device makes any difference before initiating box discovery.
    • Rebooting the router the STB and mobile are connected to five minutes before initiating box discovery
    • Confirm which STB and app versions you are using
    Once I have this information I can forward it onto our Mobile team so they can investigate further.

    Thanks!
    Sarah
  • Dan DanDan Dan Posts: 37Member
    The app works  as  described on my one box. I could be more enthusiastic if we could hide all those channels  we've already hidden on the box itself.
    When do we get this back?
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,859Member ✭✭
    I didn't have a Chromecast plugged in when I had the problem so that didn't cause it.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,200Member ✭✭✭
    Daniel said:
    I didn't have a Chromecast plugged in when I had the problem so that didn't cause it.
    Not what @Sarah was asking  :#

    She wants to know if a Chromecast has the same difficulty ‘seeing’ the box (or vice versa) as the Android app does.

    If you have a Chromecast, it will be very useful if you can check this.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,859Member ✭✭
    edited 12 February 2018, 1:42AM
    The casting function sees all boxes with or without the chromecast plugged in. I still have the app pairing issue. Only way I have managed to succeed in paring the app when I tested today was to unplug one box as you suggested previously. What I can say is I do use power line adapters on one of the boxes. I'm not sure if this has anything to do with the issues or not.
  • 468743450468743450 Posts: 3Member
    edited 2 March 2018, 12:42AM
    On my tablet the main view of the schedules keeps jumping to an earlier day. If I touch a programme that is showing on the screen to see what it is, then use the back key, I find in viewing yesterday or earlier. It is consistently not the view that I had before looking at the details of the programme, and not today.

    Just now, I look at the guide which shows Thursday, with the time bar on the current 11:37. Then I touch Lethal Weapon, look at that and touch the return arrow in the top left of the app. Now I'm looking at Wednesday at the same time. 

    Even stranger, every time I use the task switcher to use a different app and return to youview, as I do to post this then check my facts, it jumps the display back a further day! 

    Samsung Galaxy Tab S3. Android 7.0
    Hoping the screen shots upload. The browse button does nothing in this browser. 
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,200Member ✭✭✭
    edited 2 March 2018, 8:17AM
    Fine on this Android phone - Moto G 1st Gen,  Android 5.1 - it stays on the day I chose, so the issue does not seem generic.

    In the first instance, I suggest you try deleting the app, powering down the phone for a minute or two, and then reinstalling the app, to see if the problem persists or not.

    If it does, send screenshots.

    Your hoped-for screenshots didn’t come through above, but here’s mine.

    If you want to try again, first take your screenshots, and then come back here and touch the little square picture icon above, then Choose Files, and you should see your screenshots there.

    Select the one(s) you want, click Done, and they should get inserted, thus:-

     

    Note that it is still on the Saturday, tomorrow, that I moved to, selecting Third Rock and pressing the back arrow at the top. Friday is highlighted with a little upside down triangle, but that is just to show it is today, and Saturday is in a larger bold font to show that is the day selected.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • Alan11Alan11 Posts: 13Member
    My Galaxy Tab S2 (Android 7.0) does the same thing, every time you highlight a program then return the guide has moved back a day and if you do it again it goes back another day. My phone also running Android 7.0 works perfectly okay
  • Steve OliverSteve Oliver Posts: 66Member
    468743450 said:
    On my tablet the main view of the schedules keeps jumping to an earlier day. If I touch a programme that is showing on the screen to see what it is, then use the back key, I find in viewing yesterday or earlier. It is consistently not the view that I had before looking at the details of the programme, and not today.

    Just now, I look at the guide which shows Thursday, with the time bar on the current 11:37. Then I touch Lethal Weapon, look at that and touch the return arrow in the top left of the app. Now I'm looking at Wednesday at the same time. 

    Even stranger, every time I use the task switcher to use a different app and return to youview, as I do to post this then check my facts, it jumps the display back a further day! 

    Samsung Galaxy Tab S3. Android 7.0
    Hoping the screen shots upload. The browse button does nothing in this browser. 
    Me too - exactly the same problem - Tab S3.
  • SarahSarah Posts: 837Administrator admin
    Hi guys,

    I'll raise this with our Mobile team and see if this is something they're aware of. Will update when I know more :)

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • SarahSarah Posts: 837Administrator admin
    Hi all,

    Just to update, this is something our team are aware of and are working on to fix for a future Android update.

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • Steve OliverSteve Oliver Posts: 66Member
    Sarah said:
    Hi all,

    Just to update, this is something our team are aware of and are working on to fix for a future Android update.

    Thanks,
    Sarah
    Thanks Sarah :)
Sign In or Register to comment.