New forum feedback

14567810»

Comments

  • StompaStompa Posts: 38Member
    Sarah said:

    That's odd, I've tried this on a few browsers on my large monitor and smaller laptop screen at 100% and 110% and haven't found this issue with the tiles. I've found that text does start overlapping when zoomed in on the smaller screen at 125% and 175% for the larger monitor, both in Chrome. It might be helpful to know the screen size/resolution of the monitor/laptop screen you are using as I feel this is a factor. The monitor I use is 1920x1080 whilst the laptop is 1366x768 which is the default but the highest for the laptop size. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
    My screen resolution is 1280x1024. I suspect the problem is due to my having 'Scale and layout' set to 125% in Settings>System>Display. Having said that, I've not noticed any problems with any other websites with this setting.

  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    Hi @Sarah

    I’m getting a Notification whenever anyone comments on the thread ‘Now TV Changes’.

    I believe this should only happen when I am the originator of a thread, but this one was started by @Robert, not me.

    Is this correct?

    If so, it would be interesting to know why Vanilla is doing this, and why it thinks I am the OP if that is the reason.

    And also, if @Robert would be so kind, to know if he is getting these Notifications or not, assuming he is subscribed for them.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • SarahSarah Posts: 875Administrator admin
    Hi @Roy

    I just hopped onto your account quickly to check this and can see that you have the following highlighted notification options selected:


     
    As you have bookmarked the Now TV thread, you will receive notifications when someone comments on the discussion. 

    If you only want to receive notifications when someone @ mentions or you replies to your post, it's best to turn off the bookmark and participation notifications :) 

    Hope that helps!

    Sarah
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    Sarah said:
    Hi @Roy

    I just hopped onto your account quickly to check this and can see that you have the following highlighted notification options selected:


     
    As you have bookmarked the Now TV thread, you will receive notifications when someone comments on the discussion. 

    If you only want to receive notifications when someone @ mentions or you replies to your post, it's best to turn off the bookmark and participation notifications :) 

    Hope that helps!

    Sarah
    So I did. The bookmarking was an accident, but it is good that the software does what I asked for, rather than what I wanted  :D
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • Sorry for the late reply @Roy but you seem to be sorted now  :)
    B)
  • AnaglyptaAnaglypta Posts: 738Member ✭✭✭
    @Sarah

    I noticed for a while that Keith's three "lists" posts had been promoted to featured topics on the home page, but featured has now reverted to what was there before.

    Keith's "list" post are also no longer "sticky" in the feedback section. Are you going to reinstate this?

    Thanks

    John.
    "Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity." - George S. Patton
  • SarahSarah Posts: 875Administrator admin
    Anaglypta said:
    @Sarah

    I noticed for a while that Keith's three "lists" posts had been promoted to featured topics on the home page, but featured has now reverted to what was there before.

    Keith's "list" post are also no longer "sticky" in the feedback section. Are you going to reinstate this?

    Thanks

    John.
    Hi John,

    This was due to the likes on the posts causing them to be promoted on the front page tiles which was not intentional so we have now reverted back to the other tiles were on there before this happened. Not sure why this caused them to be unstickied in the Feedback section in the process but I have put them back up there :) 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,859Member ✭✭
    edited 8 February 2018, 3:56AM
    I have not been posting a lot lately but this will pick up soon. What I have noticed is I use Google keyboard on my devices and at the top of the keyboard you get suggested words or help with typos unfortunately before I stopped posting a lot it worked fine but now if I type a typo and then use the suggested spelling across the top of my keyboard the forum software don't recognize the change and leaves the typo as is so I have to manually go back remove the word and retype the correct spelling. I am wondering what has been changed to cause this because I consider it a major problem if I make a typo I don't want to have to look in a dictionary if I have not made a mistake other than not been able to spell said word. It's what modern technology is there for to make life easier.
  • SarahSarah Posts: 875Administrator admin
    Daniel said:
    I have not been posting a lot lately but this will pick up soon. What I have noticed is I use Google keyboard on my devices and at the top of the keyboard you get suggested words or help with typos unfortunately before I stopped posting a lot it worked fine but now if I type a typo and then use the suggested spelling across the top of my keyboard the forum software don't recognize the change and leaves the typo as is so I have to manually go back remove the word and retype the correct spelling. I am wondering what has been changed to cause this because I consider it a major problem if I make a typo I don't want to have to look in a dictionary if I have not made a mistake other than not been able to spell said word. It's what modern technology is there for to make life easier.
    Hi Daniel,

    There's not been any updates to the Vanilla software recently but I'll check this with our contact at Vanilla later today.

    It is possible that your phone has had an update (I know my Google phone has recently and it's behaving a bit differently for some things) and this may have subsequent affects on the keyboard use on certain websites and apps. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • jimbjimb Posts: 998Member ✭✭
    Daniel said:
    I have not been posting a lot lately but this will pick up soon. What I have noticed is I use Google keyboard on my devices and at the top of the keyboard you get suggested words or help with typos unfortunately before I stopped posting a lot it worked fine but now if I type a typo and then use the suggested spelling across the top of my keyboard the forum software don't recognize the change and leaves the typo as is so I have to manually go back remove the word and retype the correct spelling. I am wondering what has been changed to cause this because I consider it a major problem if I make a typo I don't want to have to look in a dictionary if I have not made a mistake other than not been able to spell said word. It's what modern technology is there for to make life easier.
    @Sarah I'm having problems as well, but I use a different keyboard on my tablet.
    It's from an app called SwiftKey which is very common (100 million downloads).
    If I use the predicted text the forum generates all kinds of weird stuff.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    edited 8 February 2018, 1:35PM
    Hi @Daniel

    Just had a play with my iOS keyboard. That offers me fixes for typos at two levels, blue and white.
    If a white fix is proffered, and if I touch it, it replaces the entry, otherwise nothing.
    if a blue fix is proffered, then if I touch it, likewise; but even if I don’t touch it, but just move on with the space bar, the fix word is inserted anyway.

    So when I make a tpyo, I have to actively choose “tpyo” from those options to keep it.

    Another thing that works for me is that if I go back to a typo and touch it, I get a pop-up with alternatives, and all I have to do is touch one to see the typo replaced, if one of those alternatives is what I meant to type.

    Is a Google keyboard something special, or is it just the keyboard that comes up anyway when you start typing in (presumably) Chrome?

    But it is worth remembering that when you are typing, Vanilla is (as far as I know!) entirely passive, except when it time-triggers an auto save of your draft, so you are just interacting with your browser and Android until you press a button outside of the typing box. And Chrome works exactly the same as Safari for me on this iPad.

    So have you had an update either to Android, or to your browser software, or to the keyboard software if this is a Google special, recently, that might have caused this?

    And can you try typing on other websites in your browser, and/or in other applications on your device(s) to see if this issue shows up there, or it is truly specific to Vanilla?

    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,859Member ✭✭
    edited 8 February 2018, 1:55PM
    @Roy Google keyboard is a keyboard app one can install similar to SwiftKey on android devices. It's been updated recently and this is the only website with a issue with it. The keyboard allows you to put your own image on the background of it as well which is one of the reasons I like it.
  • jimbjimb Posts: 998Member ✭✭
    Daniel said:
    @Roy Google keyboard is a keyboard app one can install similar to SwiftKey on android devices. It's been updated recently and this is the only website with a issue with it. The keyboard allows you to put your own image on the background of it as well which is one of the reasons I like it.

    Sames witw SwifSwift  This is an exaexam of what it does.

    It has only started doing this recently. 
    It's very annoying!
     >:) 
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,859Member ✭✭
    I'm off the opinion there are to many pinned topics on my tablet I have to press to scroll twice on my 10.1" tablet.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    edited 6 March 2018, 10:31PM
    Daniel said:
    I'm off the opinion there are to many pinned topics on my tablet I have to press to scroll twice on my 10.1" tablet.
    You can unpin them locally, just for your personal view, by touching the little downward arrow beside them on the right, and then even Featured topics will revert to the position merited by the timestamp on the last posting on them, albeit they will keep their blue border.

    I did this when I found there were too many pinned topics for my liking.

    However, this is not a reversible process; you can’t pin them again.

    But you can put any threads you want to preserve a quick link to in your Bookmarks, whether pinned, unpinned, or never pinned.

    You set a bookmark with the symbol that it a rectangle with a bottom chevron cut out of it, also on the right of each thread.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,859Member ✭✭
    @roy thanks Roy I didn't know this function was there. Thanks for posting.
  • AnaglyptaAnaglypta Posts: 738Member ✭✭✭
    Hello @Sarah

    Last 36 hours or so the forum is no longer sporting the "HOME" link at the bottom of each thread, requiring me to scroll all the way to the top of the thread to navigate back.

    Can you reinstate this "feature", or say why it has been removed.

    Thanks

    John.
    "Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity." - George S. Patton
  • SarahSarah Posts: 875Administrator admin
    Anaglypta said:
    Hello @Sarah

    Last 36 hours or so the forum is no longer sporting the "HOME" link at the bottom of each thread, requiring me to scroll all the way to the top of the thread to navigate back.

    Can you reinstate this "feature", or say why it has been removed.

    Thanks

    John.
    Hi John,

    We've not changed anything and neither have Vanilla so I'm a little confused about this one. To be honest I don't recall there being a home button at the bottom of the page but it may have been something I hadn't used/noticed, can you expand on where at the bottom it was? If you happen to have an old screenshot then great but no problem if not.

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • AnaglyptaAnaglypta Posts: 738Member ✭✭✭
    edited 6 April 2018, 1:12PM
    Hello @Sarah ,

    IIRC The navigation link used to be below the "Leave a Comment" box, but above the footer info at the bottom of each thread.

    I think this is something that Vanilla have done on their cloud platform as it is not displaying on Plex forums either.

    Sorry I don't have screenshot.

    John.
    "Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity." - George S. Patton
  • robin0800robin0800 Posts: 42Member
    On multiple pages clicking the numbers at the bottom takes you to the top of that page.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    edited 7 April 2018, 8:44AM
    Good catch, @robin0800

    Also, usefully, clicking ‘Recent Discussions’ at the bottom of the page seems to get you right back to the top of the Home page in one, whether there are multiple pages or just a single page in the thread.

    Could this be the ‘missing’ HOME button, as this seems to be the job it does, though it is not called ‘Home’ as such?

    The Back button in the browser often gets you there as well, though not always, as this does rely on you not having been anywhere else since leaving the Home page.

    And I’m not sure if it works the same on a PC, but on this iPad in Safari, there is a black YouView bar at the top of the screen which either does not scroll with the display but stays in place, or reappears with one scroll down, and touching the left of that always gets me back Home.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • AnaglyptaAnaglypta Posts: 738Member ✭✭✭
    Thanks @Roy

    Things work a little differently on a PC in as  much as "Recent Discussions" is located in the right hand sidebar at the very top of each page (and is not a new feature - its always been available).

    The black header bar is at the top of the screen and works as you describe. In Firefox I have a "Favourites" link which is immediately above this, and does the same job, so the YouView Community link saves me all of 2mm in mouse travel :D

    I know it's not life threatening, but I used the "HOME" link all the time and miss its demise.

    John
    "Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity." - George S. Patton
  • SarahSarah Posts: 875Administrator admin
    @Anaglypta
    I'll chase this up with Vanilla to see if we can find out where it's gone :) 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • SarahSarah Posts: 875Administrator admin
    @Anaglypta
    This issue has occurred due to a glitch in a recent Vanilla release. It is being worked on at the moment so should be visible again in the future :) 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • AnaglyptaAnaglypta Posts: 738Member ✭✭✭
    Many thanks for your help @Sarah . I look forward to its reappearance :)

    John.
    "Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity." - George S. Patton
  • SarahSarah Posts: 875Administrator admin
    Roy said:
    @Sarah

    From that posting (or even this one!) I see the behaviour on Chrome on my iPad, and Mozilla on my Dell laptop, [email protected]

    (There it went when I pressed Return, doing away with 'ws 10')  

    I also just saw the whole post wiped out by a couple of @ Sarahs, but fortunately CTRL-Z works as Undo (whether in Vanilla or Mozilla I'm not sure, though I suspect it's Mozilla to the rescue here). 
    Hi all,

    Vanilla have informed me that the have implemented a fix for the above issue raised by @Roy so please give it a try and let us know if you have any trouble at all or is any other issues pop up when using @ mentions.

    Vanilla also did an update which had a number of back end features but one front end one we are looking to add is for following a category. This means that the Recent Discussions page may be filtered to only show discussions from followed categories. With this, we will need to adjust our theming to make sure it works so this should be added on soon! 

    Thanks,

    Sarah




  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    Thanks @Sarah.

    I was still getting the bad behaviour, until I signed out of YouView and then signed in again, after which it was indeed OK.

    So anyone who wants to try this needs to refresh their session in this way first.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    @Sarah

    Next, Vanilla need to fix the PM issue with typing in the recipient, which seems to be iOS, though not iOS browser, specific.

    If I start a PM on my Windows with recipient S, a list of names comes up quickly. In Firefox, Chrome, or Edge, same OK behaviour in each.

    But on this iPad, the S just stares back at me, and I’m not even sure that Vanilla sees the S. In Safari, Firefox, or Chrome, same not-OK behaviour in each.

    Even if I type the complete Sarah, still nothing is offered, though if I backspace, the list comes up at Sar

    Very odd, and not at all the desired behaviour.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • AnaglyptaAnaglypta Posts: 738Member ✭✭✭
    Sarah said:
    @Anaglypta
    This issue has occurred due to a glitch in a recent Vanilla release. It is being worked on at the moment so should be visible again in the future :) 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
    It's back! thank's again @Sarah

    John.
    "Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity." - George S. Patton
  • SarahSarah Posts: 875Administrator admin
    edited 9 May 2018, 1:27PM
    Hi all,

    Just to update you on a new feature which you may have noticed recently. 

    Vanilla implemented a Follow Category feature so that you can select to have certain categories' posts appearing on the home page instead of all posts. It should remember your choices for this so that if you navigate away from the home page, it'll still be showing your Following categories on the home page when you go back as long as you've not cleared your browsing history/cookies. All posts from the category will be shown when you follow them, this includes stickied posts so if you wish to remove the stickied post from the top of your following list of threads, you will need to 'Dismiss' it in the drop down. You can also follow as many or as few categories as you want. 

    Examples of how to do this are in the screenshots below: 




    Aside from this, I've reported a new issue I've encountered with @ mentioning other users where it inputs a double @ symbol before the username and also can have some odd side effects afterwards which you may have experienced since the latest Vanilla release. 
    Our contacts at Vanilla have been able to replicate it and it's currently with their Devs to look into so if you come across this issue, don't worry, we're on the case :) 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
     
14567810»
Sign In or Register to comment.