How to rewind a program that has already started

GmanGman Posts: 2Member
Hi there,
I am new to BTTV (2 Days) I have had EE for 3 years. I'd like to be able to restart from the beginning a program I have just tuned into. This is a program I have not scheduled to record and I was not tuned it on to start with. turn the tv on, the program is halfway, how can I restart from the beginning?

I could do that on EE, can i do it on EE?

thanks

Gio

Comments

• redchizredchiz Posts: 4,526Member ✭✭✭
    Sadly not. EE had a novel feature where it was effectively recording a selection of channels permanently in the background, so that you could pick them up at any time. No other device does that as far as I know. The only thing that comes close is the Restart feature on BBC iPlayer.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 13,762Member ✭✭✭
    edited 2 May 2018, 6:27PM
    Gman said:
    Hi there,
    I am new to BTTV (2 Days) I have had EE for 3 years. I'd like to be able to restart from the beginning a program I have just tuned into. This is a program I have not scheduled to record and I was not tuned it on to start with. turn the tv on, the program is halfway, how can I restart from the beginning?

I could do that on EE, can I do it on BT TV?

thanks

Gio
    Hi @Gman

As the box does not know which channel you are going to tune to,  it would have to record every channel out there to do what you want, which I don’t think even EE could do.

But I dare say EE could possibly restart from the beginning of the programme on the channel(s) the box was currently tuned to? YouView can’t, though; it can only restart from the point you switched the box on.

(YouView, why don’t you record the current programme when in Standby, to do more of what Gio (and lots of other people) want?)

However, if the programme you want is available on catchup, and the catchup service can do ‘Start from the beginning’ - the BBC iPlayer certainly can, I don’t know about the others though - you can watch it that way.