Failed Recordings - What Is Going On?

Tim CTim C Posts: 332Member ✭✭
There are several threads on here about recent failed recordings for no apparent reason. Over on the BT Community forum there are even more reports of failings.

Personally last night I had 5 failures & then 2 successful recordings BUT only after I bought the G4 box out of standby to see what was happening because the iOS app wasn't showing any updates of recording status for the whole day. Once the G4 was out of standby the iOS app did get updated.

Is this a central issue with Youview as I somehow doubt it's an issue with individual boxes?

Recordings on my Freeview Panasonic recorder & my DTR-T4000 still running OldGen were unaffected.
«1345

Comments

  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 8,925Member ✭✭✭
    I've had none. And believe me, if I had, I'd be posting on here about it. 
  • scottscott Posts: 1,812Member ✭✭✭
    I have had some failures. It failed only on terrestrial recordings about the same time as some channels got updated in the listings (not sure if just coincidence), IP channel recordings in between the failures recorded fine, since a re-boot all have been fine. I reported it and was told it was known and being investigated, not sure if it has been fully identified yet or still on ongoing issue.
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 8,925Member ✭✭✭
    I believe its to do with the 700mzh channel retune and in certain areas YouView, along with a few others can be affected. London in particular appears to be badly hit.
  • Tim CTim C Posts: 332Member ✭✭
    Visionman said:
    I believe its to do with the 700mzh channel retune and in certain areas YouView, along with a few others can be affected. London in particular appears to be badly hit.
    Makes sense as it's only a recent happening.
    I'm in the London region btw.
  • alal Posts: 1,282Member ✭✭
    edited 24 April 2018, 3:41PM
    I had everything fail to record on Weds 11th to Friday 13th*. I thought nothing of it then everything failed on Fri 20th and Sat 21st. Recordings in between were fine.
    Failures were on BBC2HD, CH4HD, BBC NEWS HD, FILM4
    Non Failures were on ITV HD, BBC2HD, CH4HD, BBC NEWS HD, Together, BBCRadio4
    It doesn't seem connected to a particular mux or to weather.
    My aerial points at Sandy Heath, the opposite direction to London.

    *Like @Tim C, it seemed to clear up after taking it out of standby
  • AnaglyptaAnaglypta Posts: 740Member ✭✭✭
    al said:

    My aerial points at Sandy Heath, the opposite direction to London.

    Sandy Heath re tune day June 6th 2018

    John.
    "Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity." - George S. Patton
  • marknmarkn Posts: 3Member
    I also have started to have problems with failed recordings. Mostly Channel 5 but recently ITV. I use iOS app, Android app and directly on the box but it makes no difference. Very annoying. Re-tuned when requested. I get my Free-view from Sudbury.
    YouView people seem very quiet?
  • Tim CTim C Posts: 332Member ✭✭
    markn said:
    YouView people seem very quiet?
    Aren't they just! :(
  • SarahSarah Posts: 881Administrator admin
    markn said:
    I also have started to have problems with failed recordings. Mostly Channel 5 but recently ITV. I use iOS app, Android app and directly on the box but it makes no difference. Very annoying. Re-tuned when requested. I get my Free-view from Sudbury.
    YouView people seem very quiet?
    Hi @markn
    There could be a few reasons why this is happening however to start with, it'd be helpful if you could run through the steps on this article and let us know if that changes anything for you. 

    If it's still failing to record, can you let us know if it happens across on C5 and ITV content or if it's just specific programmes/times this is happening with? If it's on specific content, please let us know the programme name, channel and air time/date if possible.

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • dreamtimedreamtime Posts: 171Member
    Happened on my T2100 at 2100 last night. Failed to record Woman in White on BBC1HD. Box was on and not in standby. Seems to be occurring much more frequently now.
  • JoeKirbyJoeKirby Posts: 2Member
    I have 2 bt youview boxes. Both failed to record anything from last Thursday to Monday whilst in standby mode. I noticed there was a software update that hadn't self installed. Have done this manually. Fingers crossed this may fix problems?
  • marknmarkn Posts: 3Member
    Sarah,
    I've tried all the actions in the article and none of them apply in my case. Here is a little history of failed recordings...

    The Secret Life of Owls - Channel 5
    07 April 1900-2000 OK
    10 April 1900-2000 Failed
    14 April 1900-2000 OK

    Springtime on The Farm - Channel 5
    09 April 2000 - 2100 OK
    10 April 2000 - 2100 OK
    11 April 2000 - 2100 Failed
    12 April 2000 - 2100 Failed
    13 April 2000 - 2100 Failed

    Tonight - ITV
    19 April 1930 - 2000 OK
    26 April 1930 - 2000 Failed
    03 May 1930 - 2000 OK

    The Yorkshire Vet - Channel 5
    (Unfortunately I deleted the failed recordings)
    All prior to 03 May Failed
    03 May - OK
    08 May - OK

    Hope this helps
  • dreamtimedreamtime Posts: 171Member
    edited 9 May 2018, 11:40PM
    BT seem to know a lot more about this problem. See link. https://community.bt.com/t5/YouView-from-BT/Failed-Recording/td-p/1838724/page/3
  • Tim CTim C Posts: 332Member ✭✭
    Another failure today. Neighbours on CH5 at lunchtime.
  • SarahSarah Posts: 881Administrator admin
    Hi all,

    We're investigating this issue at the moment and the team are looking into lots of avenues to try and narrow down the root cause to this issue. 
    It'd be helpful to get pictures of your standby settings and also to know the times of the programmes which failed to record. 

    Thanks a lot,
    Sarah
  • Max2010Max2010 Posts: 29Member
    edited 15 May 2018, 3:58PM
    Mine did this then started freezing  now its gone to maintenance mode i think its caused by software update. What version do you have check my post
  • Max2010Max2010 Posts: 29Member
    edited 15 May 2018, 5:52PM
    Sarah said:
    Hi all,

    We're investigating this issue at the moment and the team are looking into lots of avenues to try and narrow down the root cause to this issue. 
    It'd be helpful to get pictures of your standby settings and also to know the times of the programmes which failed to record. 

    Thanks a lot,
    Sarah
    I think this is being caused by the latest update  can you check you havent released faulty code please. Is there a usb prior version
  • SarahSarah Posts: 881Administrator admin
    Max2010 said:
    Sarah said:
    Hi all,

    We're investigating this issue at the moment and the team are looking into lots of avenues to try and narrow down the root cause to this issue. 
    It'd be helpful to get pictures of your standby settings and also to know the times of the programmes which failed to record. 

    Thanks a lot,
    Sarah
    I think this is being caused by the latest update  can you check you havent released faulty code please. Is there a usb prior version
    Hi Max, 

    I've responded to your issue on the thread you made. Please check it here. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • Max2010Max2010 Posts: 29Member
    Sarah this is the same fault as my box  started with.

    Max
  • Tim CTim C Posts: 332Member ✭✭
    Slight difference tonight. Whilst watching tonights recording of the BBC 10 oclock news it came up stating recording the BBC London news.
    Having finished watching the main news went to watch the local news & no sign of it.
    This is a T2100 on 29.53.
    I've never had anything as unreliable as these Youview boxes & I think I'm getting close to being able to justify early termination of my BT TV contract.
  • scottscott Posts: 1,812Member ✭✭✭
    edited 16 May 2018, 6:02AM
    Hmm that’s interesting as 29.53 has been out for over 2 months. Have you had continuous failed recordings or only recently which would suggest the fault is not in the software...

    some info here that suggests everybody should confirm that have done a manual retune to try and help things (message 55)

    https://community.bt.com/t5/YouView-from-BT/Failed-Recording/td-p/1838724/page/6

    says a separate statement will be made so maybe we will get one from YouView today also ;)
  • Tim CTim C Posts: 332Member ✭✭
    Definitely not a software update issue as the same has happened on my T4000 running 26.xx (OldGen).
    To me it all seems to relate to the Freeview re-tunes that have been going on as there weren't many failed recording issues prior to that.
  • Tim CTim C Posts: 332Member ✭✭
    Tim C said:
    Slight difference tonight. Whilst watching tonights recording of the BBC 10 oclock news it came up stating recording the BBC London news.
    Having finished watching the main news went to watch the local news & no sign of it.
    This is a T2100 on 29.53.
    I've never had anything as unreliable as these Youview boxes & I think I'm getting close to being able to justify early termination of my BT TV contract.
    Turns out this was probably an EPG issue with the BBC calling the "London News" the "BBC Weather" and presumably using a different ID. Think I imagined the Now Recording message.
  • tlotlo Posts: 18Member
    edited 22 May 2018, 11:06AM
    I have had three failed recordings same time each day , its only started these last few weeks and i live in the east midlands
  • dreamtimedreamtime Posts: 171Member
    I have stopped using my T2100 to record as it is so unreliable. Hope it gets fixed eventually but if it takes as long as the promised return if the full hide channels facility then I had better not hold my breath.
  • Rob PRob P Posts: 37Member
    I had what I think is a slightly different failed recording issue this evening. I think it was caused by my not clearing an error message from the screen.

    I switched to 4seven around 7pm (following a reminder prompt). Found I have no signal so the signal error is displayed. I didn't bother dismissing this error and just switched the TV over to 4seven as I know this has no issue with the signal on that channel.

    I also had Gadget Show on 5HD at 7pm and Coronation Street on ITV HD at 7.30 set to record (and nothing else). However both of these failed, I assume due to the error message not having been dismissed, or possibly just by being tuned to a channel with no signal? Either way this appears to be a bug. I'm on 29.58.0 on BT DTR-T2110. All recordings before and since have been fine. Both ITV HD and C5 HD have a perfect signal. 
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,327Member ✭✭✭
    edited 19 May 2018, 8:54AM
    The YouView box relies on the Present/Following trigger for the programme you are trying to record in order to know when to start.

    So that this can happen whatever channel you are currently tuned to, these triggers are broadcast on every channel, not just the channel the intended recording is on.

    But if you have managed, as you have somehow, to have a channel with no signal, and you leave the box tuned to that, it follows that the box will get no P/Fs, and so all your recordings will fail.

    A little voice in my head is suggesting that a related mechanism, possibly linked to the recent retunings, may lie behind the subsequent spate of failed recordings, though it is unable to explain quite how that might work.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • dreamtimedreamtime Posts: 171Member
    edited 19 May 2018, 8:42AM
    @Roy I like your reasoning around the recent failed recordings issue. I live in an area that does not need to be retuned and have still had several failed recordings, as far as I can remember they were all on BBC1HD and I think the box was in standby mode when the recording should of happened. When I pressed the power button on the remote after about 10mins or so after start time then the recording started from there. T2100 on latest software.
  • SarahSarah Posts: 881Administrator admin
    Hi all, 

    To those who are experiencing this issue, can you please private message me with your Postcode (or email to [email protected] if you feel happier doing this), as it'd be helpful for us to see if this is limited by certain regions or if it's nationwide. 

    If anyone is using the Android app to book recordings (booked through the app rather than the box) and are receiving failed recordings, please let us know:
    • What Android device you are using
    • What Android update your phone currently has
    • When you started getting failed recordings
    If you are using the iOS app to book recordings and these have been failing as well, it'd be helpful to know the equivalent details as above as well. 

    We are looking into lots of areas to try and resolve this issue so any details to help us narrow the investigation down is always helpful. 

    Thanks a lot,
    Sarah
  • scottscott Posts: 1,812Member ✭✭✭
    edited 24 May 2018, 8:27PM
    Following on from my pictures in the colour scheme thread. I turned my box on tonight 15 minutes after a recording should have started as I saw there was no red light on the front of the box. As expected the recording had failed to start (the box was tuned the Eurosport ip channel and that started playing fine). I hit the menu button and the mini guide showed 'on now' on all channels except ch5 that should have been the one recording, this was still showing the last program even though it had finished 15 minutes ago. When I switched to ch5 the program started recording immediately.




«1345
Sign In or Register to comment.