Connection between Reception Booster and Youview

PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
What do I need to connect from my TV reception booster to the in connection port on my Humax youview box?

I can connect everything apart from the connection from the booster to the YouView in port. 
«1

Comments

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,522 ✭✭✭
    That entirely depends on what the output port on your booster looks like.

    Any of these look familiar?

    At a guess, I expect it is a female F-type socket, and I know the YouView input is a female coax socket. But they are electrically compatible, and coax cable is coax cable, so it is just a case of getting the plugs right.

    So you could make up a lead with a length of coax cable and a F-type male plug on one end and a coax male plug on the other.

    Or, you could use a ready-made male to male coax cable, F-type plugs both ends or coax plugs both ends, doesn’t matter which, whichever is cheaper or handier. 

    If F-type plugs both ends, use a female F-type to male coax adapter for the YouView end.

    Or if coax plugs both ends, use a female coax to male F-type adapter for the booster end.

    Happy coupling!
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    edited 9 November 2018, 10:37PM
    Hi Roy, 

    Please see attached 2 pics, one is the booster and the other is an antenna lead male to female connector, the problem being the male connects to the booster but the female end doesn't fit to the antenna in port on the YouView box.

    Can you help please with the pics? 

    I take it the connectors in my pic are different from the input on the YouView box? 

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,522 ✭✭✭
    edited 9 November 2018, 11:00PM
    OK, both look like coax plugs, and the problem is that you need an ‘ordinary’ male to male plugs coax cable, such as you would use to go from a TV socket on the wall to the YouView box.

    But what you have is a female to male plugs coax cable, such as you would use to go from the coax out on a YouView box onward to the TV.

    You can either buy, or find in your bits box (if you have one), such a male to male cable, or you can get a male to male coax adapter, put it on the female end of your M-F cable, and turn it into an M-M cable that way.

    But as a new M-M cable and an M-M adapter cost about the same, I suggest you buy the cable, and use that M-F cable you have to pass the aerial signal onward to the TV, for when the YouView box is busy recording two programmes and you want to watch a third.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    I can already record 2 and watch a third as the box is connected to the television by an HDMI cable. 

    So, what exactly do I need to ask for so that I can attach the aerial cable to the booster and have a coax lead from the booster out to the antenna in on the YouView box? 
  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    edited 10 November 2018, 1:09AM
    Hi Roy, 
    So I just require to purchase a male to male cable similar male end size as my male black coax image, and you say that should fit into the antenna in port on the YouView box?

    That male image end should fit in the aerial antenna input on youview, am I right with this?

    Edit:
    I've tested inserting the male cable end into the YouView box antenna in and it does fit as you've said so thanks. 

    I tried at first inserting it into the wall aerial socket and it wouldn't go right in, why would this be as I thought that both ends of the aerial cable from the wall to the box were the same but obviously not, at least the male ends connect with the booster and the aerial in on youview box.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,522 ✭✭✭
    edited 10 November 2018, 8:38AM
    Puffin said:
    I can already record 2 and watch a third as the box is connected to the television by an HDMI cable. 

    So, what exactly do I need to ask for so that I can attach the aerial cable to the booster and have a coax lead from the booster out to the antenna in on the YouView box? 
    You can indeed watch a third channel over HDMI from the YouView box, but only if that would not involve a third mux (group of channels).

    By using the M-F coax cable, you can pass the aerial signal on to the TV, and use the TV tuner to watch any third channel you like, without restrictions.

    I see the other question is covered below.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,522 ✭✭✭
    Puffin said:
    Hi Roy, 
    So I just require to purchase a male to male cable similar male end size as my male black coax image, and you say that should fit into the antenna in port on the YouView box?

    That male image end should fit in the aerial antenna input on youview, am I right with this?

    Edit:
    I've tested inserting the male cable end into the YouView box antenna in and it does fit as you've said so thanks. 

    I tried at first inserting it into the wall aerial socket and it wouldn't go right in, why would this be as I thought that both ends of the aerial cable from the wall to the box were the same but obviously not, at least the male ends connect with the booster and the aerial in on youview box.
    Yes, wall sockets are normally a female coax socket, to accept a male coax plug. Compare it with the female end of that cable you have. Perhaps the female centre has been squashed? Though the plug should only go in as far as the plastic bit anyway.

    If the wall socket is actually a male, then it is probably an FM radio socket, not a TV socket.

    If you are the second or subsequent owner/renter of your property though, there is no telling how a previous owner may have arranged things,
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    Roy said:
    Puffin said:
    Hi Roy, 
    So I just require to purchase a male to male cable similar male end size as my male black coax image, and you say that should fit into the antenna in port on the YouView box?

    That male image end should fit in the aerial antenna input on youview, am I right with this?

    Edit:
    I've tested inserting the male cable end into the YouView box antenna in and it does fit as you've said so thanks. 

    I tried at first inserting it into the wall aerial socket and it wouldn't go right in, why would this be as I thought that both ends of the aerial cable from the wall to the box were the same but obviously not, at least the male ends connect with the booster and the aerial in on youview box.
    Yes, wall sockets are normally a female coax socket, to accept a male coax plug. Compare it with the female end of that cable you have. Perhaps the female centre has been squashed? Though the plug should only go in as far as the plastic bit anyway.

    If the wall socket is actually a male, then it is probably an FM radio socket, not a TV socket.

    If you are the second or subsequent owner/renter of your property though, there is no telling how a previous owner may have arranged things,
    It's a new build and the socket was pre installed, here's a picture of the wall socket that leads ultimately to the aerial and the cable is behind the wall that goes up to the loft.


  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    Here's a clearer picture of the wall socket and the end that fits it, it's clearer to show that the wall socket is female as you said.

  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    So I'll get a M to M lead.today, take it from the booster to the YouView box and hopefully it should all come together. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,522 ✭✭✭
    Puffin said:
    Here's a clearer picture of the wall socket and the end that fits it, it's clearer to show that the wall socket is female as you said.

    Still hard to see, but that little tube in the centre should not have any obstruction in it, and it looks as if it might have, maybe part of the tube pushed in on itself? (Compare it with the female end of that M-F cable you have).
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,522 ✭✭✭
    Puffin said:
    So I'll get a M to M lead today, take it from the booster to the YouView box and hopefully it should all come together. 
    Yes it should indeed. But what is upstream of that booster, and feeding into it?

    If it is a cable from your TV socket, the one shown in your photos that doesn’t look quite right and won’t accept a male plug pushed right into it, you may not be getting a decent signal into the booster in the first place.

    And if so, you need to get that wall socket replaced with a new one.....
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    But is that not the reason for buying a booster to boost the signal strength? 
  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    I think that must be a flash that looks like there's something in the centre of the wall socket. 
  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    Roy said:
    Puffin said:
    So I'll get a M to M lead today, take it from the booster to the YouView box and hopefully it should all come together. 
    Yes it should indeed. But what is upstream of that booster, and feeding into it?

    If it is a cable from your TV socket, the one shown in your photos that doesn’t look quite right and won’t accept a male plug pushed right into it, you may not be getting a decent signal into the booster in the first place.

    And if so, you need to get that wall socket replaced with a new one.....
    Where does it tell me the upstream? 
  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    Btw the booster has been fitted and so far is working well with steady signal strength. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,522 ✭✭✭
    Puffin said:
    Roy said:
    Puffin said:
    So I'll get a M to M lead today, take it from the booster to the YouView box and hopefully it should all come together. 
    Yes it should indeed. But what is upstream of that booster, and feeding into it?

    If it is a cable from your TV socket, the one shown in your photos that doesn’t look quite right and won’t accept a male plug pushed right into it, you may not be getting a decent signal into the booster in the first place.

    And if so, you need to get that wall socket replaced with a new one.....
    Where does it tell me the upstream? 
    No, I just meant what is feeding into the booster?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,522 ✭✭✭
    Puffin said:
    Btw the booster has been fitted and so far is working well with steady signal strength. 
    Promising. Glad you are motoring again with the new cable.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    Thanks so much for all your help Roy. 
  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    edited 11 November 2018, 6:42PM
    Getting 100 % for strength and quality on the main six mux channels, however there are some channels like five select for instance that have picture issues and are not 100% quality and strength unlike the main 6 mux channels.

    The booster has a gain of 23db.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,522 ✭✭✭
    edited 11 November 2018, 11:10PM
    Puffin said:
    Getting 100 % for strength and quality on the main six mux channels, however there are some channels like five select for instance that have picture issues and are not 100% quality and strength unlike the main 6 mux channels.

    The booster has a gain of 23db.
    5Select is on the multiplex COM4, which I would regard as one of the main 6. 

    Which do do you think the main 6 are?

    Put your postcode and house number into this checker, by using the Change Address feature there, and see what transmitter(s) you are likely pulling in at what signal strengths.

    Oh, and 23Db is a gain of 203x, so you should be able to hear a mouse fart in a thunderstorm with it  :p
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,522 ✭✭✭
    edited 11 November 2018, 11:10PM
    Puffin said:
    But is that not the reason for buying a booster to boost the signal strength? 
    You don’t buy a booster to overcome some problem in your aerial system.

    You buy a booster for when your aerial system is as good as it can be, but the signal is still weak.

    Remember that a booster will amplify the noise as well as the desired signal, as has been mentioned above, so you want the signal you are amplifying to be as clean as it possibly can be.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    I'm getting 100% for some channels that I would normally get 60% for signal strength, would you say that these are fake percentages? 


  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    TSG tried pointing aerial to Craigkelly but the reception was bad for a good number of channels, that transmitter is much nearer but he ended up aligning it to Blackhill as its a stronger transmitter.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,522 ✭✭✭
    Puffin said:
    I'm getting 100% for some channels that I would normally get 60% for signal strength, would you say that these are fake percentages? 


    Of course not.

    But the key measure is Signal Quality. If that is 100%, even if the Signal Strength is lower, you should be fine.

    OTOH, 100% Strength, with less than 100% Quality, would be the result of boosting a signal that was too weak or too noisy in the first place.

    If you can avoid that, you are fine.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,522 ✭✭✭
    Puffin said:
    TSG tried pointing aerial to Craigkelly but the reception was bad for a good number of channels, that transmitter is much nearer but he ended up aligning it to Blackhill as its a stronger transmitter.
    And do you see all green for the Blackhill muxes, from your postcode and house number?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    edited 14 November 2018, 12:32PM
    Roy said:
    Puffin said:
    TSG tried pointing aerial to Craigkelly but the reception was bad for a good number of channels, that transmitter is much nearer but he ended up aligning it to Blackhill as its a stronger transmitter.
    And do you see all green for the Blackhill muxes, from your postcode and house number?
    As it's a new build it doesn't exactly find my exact address but finds the development area. It shows Craigkelly as the most likely transmitter but as I've mentioned it's aligned to Blackhill  
    I've noticed 5select having pixelation issues but can live with that. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,522 ✭✭✭
    Puffin said:
    Roy said:
    And do you see all green for the Blackhill muxes, from your postcode and house number?
    As it's a new build it doesn't exactly find my exact address but finds the development area. It shows Craigkelly as the most likely transmitter but as I've mentioned it's aligned to Blackhill  
    I've noticed 5select having pixelation issues but can live with that. 
    Yes, I have that problem. According to Digital UK, I don’t have a valid postcode, and the nearest valid one can’t get an OTA TV signal at all.

    Oh, and by the way, for as close as you can get to your new address, do you see all green for the Blackhill muxes?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • PuffinPuffin Member Posts: 64
    Yes, all green I think. 

    Now, remember I said I had 100% for strength and quality since the introduction of the booster? well I recorded Strictly It Takes two on BBC TWO tonight and I'm aware of a loudish pop noise during it, could this be what was causing the picture to disappear prior to the booster?

    I'll need to check out the recording again to hear if that same noise can be heard on the recording or maybe it came through just as the recording was being played at a random time. 

    Can't see it being 4G interference as the aerial itself has a 4g filter but so does the booster and maybe the two are having issues with interference together  
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭
    Puffin said:
    I've noticed 5select having pixelation issues but can live with that.
    Did 5Select have the pixelation issue before you installed the signal booster?
Sign In or Register to comment.