Poor reception on some channels

Dan DanDan Dan Posts: 56Member
edited 31 May 2019, 9:04PM in Support
Good evening viewers 

Started getting more pixelated / frozen picture issues with certain channels. We're using a BT HD box with the antenna passed through to a Sony TV.
The same channels when using the TV tuner are flawless. 
When I check the quality and strength on the BT box, both say 100%

Tried powering down and tetuning but no improvement. 
The problematic channels are  17 (Really) and sometimes 101 (BBC1 HD) amongst others 

Any ideas people? 

Thanks in advance 


Comments

  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,509Member ✭✭✭
    Oh come on you know how a double tuner works, you've had a YouView for years. The weathers been really screwy lately and my Granada signals been affected as well. It should calm down on Sunday.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 15,208Member ✭✭✭
    Visionman said:
    Oh come on you know how a double tuner works, you've had a YouView for years. The weathers been really screwy lately and my Granada signals been affected as well. It should calm down on Sunday.
    @Visionman, I’m puzzled by this.

    Are you saying that double tuners are inherently flawed, so flawed that there is no improvement Humax could make to its notoriously quirky YouView ones?
    This is not the YouView that I knew  :'(
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,509Member ✭✭✭
    Quirky? They're not quirky. They are over-sensitive.  :D  
  • Dan DanDan Dan Posts: 56Member
    Quirky? They're not quirky. They are over-sensitive.  D  
    ... Which brings us back to my good lady and her viewing pleasures.
    Would an in line signal booster /amplifier improve the situation? 
  • joneshjonesh Posts: 1,305Member ✭✭✭
    edited 1 June 2019, 6:34PM
    100% signal quality is ideal, but 100% signal strength is not necessarily a good thing. The scale ends at 100%, but your actual signal strength could be higher, overloading your YouView box's tuners. TV tuners seem to be able to cope better than those in YouView boxes.
    Dan Dan said:
    Would an in line signal booster /amplifier improve the situation? 
    An inline signal booster could make the situation worse. It might be worth you trying an attenuator to reduce your signal strength to below, say, 80%.
    The YouView Support Freeview Picture Breakup page says: If the signal is too strong an attenuator device may be used to lower the signal strength for better picture quality.
    I have a 12dB attenuator in our aerial lead, but variable ones are available. Try a search on Variable TV Signal Attenuator.
  • John LJohn L Posts: 257Member
    If only the Youview settings menu had a on/off setting to get rid of message? Yes, I know this doesn't solve main problem, but at least you can see the picture if signal is low but not totally weak. It happens mainly on BBC News HD 107, due to the transmitter Com7/8 problem. How we get round the problem is to either change channel to BBC1 HD or use the standard channels or better still use another PVR !: Freeview/Freesat. It seems to be an overlook from the design at the moment. Hopefully the feature will be added soon. John L
  • Dan DanDan Dan Posts: 56Member

    The YouView Support Freeview Picture Breakup page says: If the signal is too strong an attenuator device may be used to lower the signal strength for better picture quality.
    I have a 12dB attenuator in our aerial lead, but variable ones are available. Try a search on Variable TV Signal Attenuator.
    Thanks @jonesh....I'll give that a go.
    It has become worse over the past weeks
  • John LJohn L Posts: 257Member
    Yes, Dan Dan, we have noticed this. It's getting very frustrating for one member of the family who uses Youview every day. I spend my life fixing/resetting the pvr when I get asked either with signal problem or it has frozen . . . again! Hopefully an update will be able to either fix signal message problem or at least have a "on/off" on message display? On the forums there doesn't seem to be many reporting issue, but loads of consumers around the uk will be getting the problem & not reporting it. If I was not "technical", I would think there was a fault with either my aerial or the twin tuner. The only way to really test without a visit from aerial repairer : in some cases wasting money!! The other option (if you are able to) is to swap pvr over to an alternative: freeview/old pvr etc, just to see if problem solved.

    All our other pvrs in the home don't get the problem: signal is 10/10. Samsung tv's own tuner is most of the time 100%, occasionally bit rate error (shown on the diagnose menu on tv) may report a very minor fluctuation in signal, but it's not a weak signal. I know signal was worse a few months back. I have tested around the home since then. It seems as if the Youview tuner is very sensitive on signal being feed in. I can only guess slightly underpowered depending on which model you have. Not honestly sure what can be done, as hardware design can't be fixed (!) unless faulty, plus the transmitter problem with com7/8 due to 5G Mobile. It's a catch situation. So the only solution is a software fix or as mentioned: turn off message until a better fix is found? Anyone else agree? John L
  • joneshjonesh Posts: 1,305Member ✭✭✭
    edited 4 June 2019, 5:50PM
    @Dan Dan said that his signal strength is 100% @John L, so the Weak Signal message won't be an issue.
    John L said:
    I spend my life fixing/resetting the pvr when I get asked either with signal problem or it has frozen . . . again!
    If you are regularly having to re-set your YouView box, then there is a problem with your signal, or your box, that needs fixing, for it to work properly.
    What Signal Strength and Quality readings do you get?
  • John LJohn L Posts: 257Member
    Hi Jonesh, most of the problem with Youview pvr BT2100 that I don't use myself, another member of family uses this & they are not technical when it comes to resetting etc. The box freezes, might even be a hard drive getting slight worn out (like me getting frustrated having to reset a couple times each month). But occasionally signal drops. There is nothing wrong with the signal from the aerial. Yes, it is run around the home to various outputs. I did all the installation myself, so have some idea. In another room we have a T2000 (used for Youview trials) & this works very well with regards signal most of the time. The Youview tuners are very sensitive, rather fussy with signal feeds! To answer your question: signal normally is 95/100% & same with quality. When the transmitter decides to have a low output, it is anything from below 95% down to very low levels. I have tested & swap equipment/try another location in house & signal levels are always a lot higher on the same aerial feed PLUS without the annoying message! Panasonic Freeview PVR (old model) signal is normally 10/10, or if there is a lower transmitter output it doesn't go lower than 9/10. I would place my bets on the Youview tuner trying to cope with signal problems which are outside Youview's control? Unless Youview can find a fix. John L
  • Dan DanDan Dan Posts: 56Member

    The YouView Support Freeview Picture Breakup page says: If the signal is too strong an attenuator device may be used to lower the signal strength for better picture quality.
    I have a 12dB attenuator in our aerial lead, but variable ones are available. Try a search on Variable TV Signal Attenuator.
    Thanks @jonesh....I'll give that a go.
    It has become worse over the past weeks.
  • joneshjonesh Posts: 1,305Member ✭✭✭
    edited 5 June 2019, 6:46PM
    John L said:
    ~ occasionally signal drops. There is nothing wrong with the signal from the aerial.
    ~ signal normally is 95/100% & same with quality. When the transmitter decides to have a low output, it is anything from below 95% down to very low levels.
    The fluctuations in your signal indicate that there is a problem with it @John L.
  • John LJohn L Posts: 257Member
    Yes we know that Jonesh! If you reread my paragraph I tested all this & found the answer. 
    (Don't know why I bother making a comment on forum?). Everyone's home set up maybe different taking into consideration equipment (i.e Youview/Freeview) different makes of hardware: Humax/Panasonic & booster/aerial & cable connections. I think I will start an Aerial business . . . . (!) Enjoy your Youview viewing tonight. John L
  • joneshjonesh Posts: 1,305Member ✭✭✭
    edited 5 June 2019, 10:56PM
    I am puzzled by your response @John L, in particular by your attitude.
    My comment was in response to the statement that you made in your earlier post, that there is nothing wrong with the signal from the aerial. Now you state that you are aware that there is a problem with your signal.
    I am at a loss . . . 🤔.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 15,208Member ✭✭✭
    jonesh said:
    I am puzzled by your response @John L, in particular by your attitude.
    My comment was in response to the statement that you made in your earlier post, that there is nothing wrong with the signal from the aerial. Now you state that you are aware that there is a problem with your signal.
    I am at a loss . . . 🤔.
    I can’t help thinking that if the signal from a transmitter was fluctuating, it might be noticed across the region; and nothing strikes more dread into the heart of a professional aerial fitter than “I know the cabling is all right, as I did it myself”.

    But perhaps there are variable line-of-sight obstructions to the transmitter, such as tall trees waving in the breeze?

    In which case, raising an external aerial higher may help, or replacing a loft aerial with an external one.
    This is not the YouView that I knew  :'(
  • joneshjonesh Posts: 1,305Member ✭✭✭
    edited 8 June 2019, 12:23PM
    John L said:
    Yes we know that Jonesh! If you reread my paragraph I tested all this & found the answer.
    Are you saying that you have found the anwer, but you don't know the solution @John L?
    A local professional aerial fitter will check your aerial and test your signal, and suggest the best way way to solve the problem.
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,509Member ✭✭✭
    edited 8 June 2019, 1:42PM
    Hi Dan Dan,

    I too would call in a professional aerial installer asking if they give free quotes, if a local one, or if not if  theres a call-out charge.
  • joneshjonesh Posts: 1,305Member ✭✭✭
    edited 10 June 2019, 6:26PM
    @Dan Dan could consult an aerial installer @Visionman, but the issue with his signal is different from @John L's.
    @Dan Dan has reported a strong signal, which can easily be fixed by putting an attenuator in the aerial line. They are relatively inexpensive and it might be worth him trying a variable one before consulting an installer. A selection are available to buy here. An installer would measure the signal and recommend one of a fixed value if it was required. The link includes an interesting read about the use of UHF attenuators.
    @John L reported a fluctuating signal. This problem would be harder to diagnose and fix, but an aerial installer should be able to find a solution. He could consider starting a new thread to initiate a discussion.
  • Dan DanDan Dan Posts: 56Member
    Thanks @Jonesh... I have an attenuator arriving by Wednesday... I'll post again when tried 
  • joneshjonesh Posts: 1,305Member ✭✭✭
    I've got my fingers crossed @Dan Dan :).
  • RoyRoy Posts: 15,208Member ✭✭✭
    And I’m waiting with bated breath.

    i did try baited breath, but the fish-hook hurt my tongue  :p
    This is not the YouView that I knew  :'(
  • Dan DanDan Dan Posts: 56Member
    Well the wait is over and I've a story to tell.....

    I will explain this in bullet point statements so that those of you that may know a possible reason can see the facts.

    My wife watched the Really channel (17) last weekend and it was bad.
    The variable attenuator arrived yesterday.
    I connected it to my incoming aerial and a short fly lead to the BT box.
    I tuned the box to BBC1 HD (101) without adjusting the attenuator
    I went to settings to see both Quality and strength for the channel at 100%
    I adjusted the attenuator and adjusted the strength down to 95% (a starting point)
    The BBC1 HD channel still gave a good unbroken picture.
    I then selected channel 17 with the remote.
    It couldn't find it. Very odd.
    I checked on my TV tuner and channel 17 was there.
    On the BT box guide, channel 17 wasn't there.
    I disconnected the attenuator and did a full retune of the BT box.
    Channel 17 now giving a perfect unbroken picture after watching for about 30 mins.
    Did some recordings last night and whizzed through them - picture perfect at 100% strength.

    As it stands I'm happy. I'll see how it goes with changing weather, atmospherics etc and keep the attenuator until I hit the problem again.

    Only question for you guys......why/how did the channel disappear and could this have been related to the picture problem?






  • Dan DanDan Dan Posts: 56Member
    Update to above.... 

    I've just got home and asked my wife how has channel 17 been today. She said it was back to going blocky. 
    So I just tried to view it and it's disappeared from the channel listing again. 
    What's going on? 
  • joneshjonesh Posts: 1,305Member ✭✭✭
    Sorry to hear that @Dan Dan.
    Ch17 (Really) is on the same multiplex (Com5) as things like Dave (Ch12), Challenge (Ch46) and Sky News (Ch233). Are those channels there?
    Different multiplexes often have different Signal Strengths. Are the Signal Strength and Quality readings that you quote the ones for Ch17?
    Do you live close to your transmitter? If you are not sure where it is, you can find it here.
    It might be worth you getting the SS down to say, 75-85% and doing a retune. I've never done it, but some people unplug the aerial first, retune, then plug the aerial back in and tune again.
    Other than that, I've run out of ideas :'(.
  • Dan DanDan Dan Posts: 56Member
    Hi @jonesh

    Currently we're not getting the 3 channel numbers you state. 
    When we did have them (on the guide) we were getting 100% SS which is where you came in I remember.

    I retuned last night and got those channels back, with a good picture and at 100% SS.
    Tonight they've dissappeared from the guide again (without retuning) 

    How can the guide omit channels (twice now) that just happens to be the ones I have a problem with?
    Is the guide dynamic on what it can receive.?

    Long winded I know but I'll have another go as you suggest. Thanks for your input... Appreciated 
  • joneshjonesh Posts: 1,305Member ✭✭✭
    I don't know whether the Guide is dynamic, or not @Dan Dan.
    Have a read of this. It might explain why the channels are disappearing from your box.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 15,208Member ✭✭✭
    Dan Dan said:
    Update to above.... 

    I've just got home and asked my wife how has channel 17 been today. She said it was back to going blocky. 
    So I just tried to view it and it's disappeared from the channel listing again. 
    What's going on? 
    Hi Dan Dan

    You need to set the attenuator while tuned to 17 SD Really, not 101 BBC HD, to see what’s going on - 101 is brought in by the DVB-T2 tuner, but 17 by the DVB-T one.

    Proceed as above, tuned to 17 and in the signal strength/quality option of Settings, dropping the signal strength to 95%, or to wherever the signal quality drops below 100% and then go back a notch, whichever comes first.

    Then, with 17 OK, see how 101 is getting on.
    This is not the YouView that I knew  :'(
  • Dan DanDan Dan Posts: 56Member
    Thanks @roy and @jonesh.... Everyday's a schoolday...... I'll pick it up tomorrow.

    BTW... A case of hyperoxia elsewhere me thinks.  ;)
  • Dan DanDan Dan Posts: 56Member
    Hi

    Success! 

    Retuned the box (again) last night and fitted the attenuator in line. Did as you guys suggested and kept turning the pot whilst monitoring the signal strength on the YouView box. I've had it at 90% all day and the channels are there and the picture is good with no freezing/drop out /blocking.
    All other channels are good and picture quality is 100%

    I'm going to try and not give 100% at work to see if my prospects improve  ;)

    Thanks for your help @jonesh and @roy ;
  • joneshjonesh Posts: 1,305Member ✭✭✭
    Woo-Hoo! Let's hope that it stays that way.
Sign In or Register to comment.