Important Information Regarding the Mobile App

1678911

Comments

  • david1david1 Member Posts: 76 ✭✭
    Great news about the BT TV app. Works a treat. Thanks BT and Youview. And being able to delete scheduled (and existing) recordings is a real bonus
  • scottscott Member, Super User Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭
    edited 4 April 2020, 2:13PM
    @Stephen any reason why the iOS version doesn’t include the ability to delete recordings?
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,108 ✭✭✭
    scott said:
    @Stephen any reason why the iOS version doesn’t include the ability to delete recordings?
    Because it’s bloody dangerous? I tried it with the schedule entry for Belgravia, swiping it left, expecting a Delete button perhaps, but it just went, offering me an UNDO for a few seconds before that too disappeared.

    And Recordings have the same UI for this; I deprecate that. Fortunately, I had a sacrifice recording I could try it on.
    These tests for COVID-19 might get right up my nose, if only I could get one
  • LastPintDave9LastPintDave9 Member Posts: 20
    Haha, I've lost a couple of recordings already trying to (wrongly) swipe sideways to go to the "Scheduled" tab. Duh. You don't get very long at all to "Undo" (a second, two?), and there's no "confirm" at all. 

  • GrundersGrunders Member Posts: 131
    edited 6 April 2020, 9:47AM
    Well, it's a cynical world.  Who would have thought this would happen.  In a world where businesses care about themselves, people dont care about the harm or distress they cause to others by ignoring rules, administration often suffocates the voice of a simple process and money bangs the drum to dictate the pace of all of the above.  And yet, from the deep darkest crack of pessimism germinates the seed and shoot of surprise where BT actually adjusted their way of working and opened up their app to suite non-BT customers.  Ive just tried it and its perfectly acceptable to do everything you had before.  What a delight, and thank you BT.  Very happy to see such positivity and union in an otherwise selfish world.

    But why?  And for how long?  How long before they lock it down along the words of "youve had it for a year - now its time your signed up and used us" after 12 months of their emblem and marketing in your face.

    For the die hards: there you go, back to cynicism.  ;)
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,108 ✭✭✭
    edited 6 April 2020, 7:58AM
    @Grunders

    Wow, your cynicism exceeds mine 😛

    The BT App does what BT wants it to do for BT TV subscribers, which is fair enough, and it lets us retail users set recordings remotely (or in our case, set recordings for later on without having to disturb the programme we are watching on the YouView box at the moment), easily the most critical loss if BT had not opened up their App to us; but it doesn’t give me everything I had before.

    I used to be able to watch many TV programmes, on catchup, on my iPad, by running up the YouView App, and just choosing the programme off the EPG; the BT App does not support this. But as I said, this is secondary.

    However, I can now obtain this aspect of the lost functionality from the Freeview App, so all I’m actually losing now is a little convenience.

    But congratulations, YouView, on driving me into the arms of your deadly rival 😈
    These tests for COVID-19 might get right up my nose, if only I could get one
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭
    @Grunders greetings - a rare appearance!   :)
  • GrundersGrunders Member Posts: 131
    edited 6 April 2020, 11:37AM
    I don't mind the BT branding and the functions that require BT login I.D. For me, it was just the app based record scheduling and viewing MyTV that I used and we now still have that (good news). I never used the app based playback (or even know it was possible) but I can see it's uses for some. 

    (@Jimb: yep.  Rare as hens teeth nowadays).
  • LastPintDave9LastPintDave9 Member Posts: 20
    The free BT App usage will do me nicely for now, thank you. I don't even think about what happens in 12 months' time; given past experience with PVRs in recent years, this box's hardware will probably fail before then, and it will be time to shell out another couple of hundred quid on something else.  (I've had it 4 years, so it's a relative antique  :) ).
  • SieskaSieska Member Posts: 5
    I have a HDR-FOX T2 and have downloaded the BT TV app onto my Ipad.  However, it refuses to recognise the Humax and just tells me it can't find a BT box.  Any suggestions?
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,108 ✭✭✭
    edited 7 April 2020, 5:54PM
    Sieska said:
    I have a HDR-FOX T2 and have downloaded the BT TV app onto my Ipad.  However, it refuses to recognise the Humax and just tells me it can't find a BT box.  Any suggestions?
    Sorry @Sieska, but that box is not a YouView box. 

    I don’t think it would have worked with the YouView app either, alas, when that was in its heyday.
    These tests for COVID-19 might get right up my nose, if only I could get one
  • SieskaSieska Member Posts: 5
    It was very happy with the YouView app.  It worked from the bedroom, let alone Malaysia!
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,108 ✭✭✭
    Sieska said:
    It was very happy with the YouView app.  It worked from the bedroom, let alone Malaysia!
    Yes indeed, with a YouView box. 

    But if it worked with a FOX-T2, then Humax PVRs must be much more alike than I thought they were.

    Anyone from YouView care to comment here? @Stephen, maybe?
    These tests for COVID-19 might get right up my nose, if only I could get one
  • LukеLukе Member Posts: 49
    Roy said:
    Sieska said:
    It was very happy with the YouView app.  It worked from the bedroom, let alone Malaysia!
    Yes indeed, with a YouView box. 

    But if it worked with a FOX-T2, then Humax PVRs must be much more alike than I thought they were.

    Anyone from YouView care to comment here? @Stephen, maybe?
    The app dosn't work with an HDR-FOX T2, but it is possible to disguise a DTR-T1000 as an HDR-FOX T2 by swapping over the front panels, which apart from the signage are identical.




  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,108 ✭✭✭
    Lukе said:
    Roy said:
    Sieska said:
    It was very happy with the YouView app.  It worked from the bedroom, let alone Malaysia!
    Yes indeed, with a YouView box. 

    But if it worked with a FOX-T2, then Humax PVRs must be much more alike than I thought they were.

    Anyone from YouView care to comment here? @Stephen, maybe?
    The app dosn't work with an HDR-FOX T2, but it is possible to disguise a DTR-T1000 as an HDR-FOX T2 by swapping over the front panels, which apart from the signage are identical.
    Cheers @Luke

    If this is indeed a disguised T1000, or even an HDR-FOX T2 that worked like a T1000 (I can’t immediately see which is more unlikely) then it won’t work with the BT TV App, as YouView T10x0s won’t work with it either.

    But even if this is a disguised T1000 from the outside, looking up what the model is in Settings should resolve its true identity.
    These tests for COVID-19 might get right up my nose, if only I could get one
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 9,871 ✭✭✭
    A HDR-FOX T2  predates a Youview T1000 MASSIVELY. So no, Sieska hasn't got one and is on the wrong forum. 
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,108 ✭✭✭
    Visionman said:
    A HDR-FOX T2  predates a Youview T1000 MASSIVELY. So no, Sieska hasn't got one and is on the wrong forum. 
    We are all trying to avoid flat-out contradicting @Sieska, but I am coming to the conclusion that this HDR-FOX T2 is actually a YouView DTR-T1000; about the only scenario that would support it having worked in the past with the Retail App, but not now with the BT TV app.

    Something that would mean Sieska is on the right forum.
    These tests for COVID-19 might get right up my nose, if only I could get one
  • 468743450468743450 Member Posts: 4
    Referring back to the OP, YouView has done the dirty on us. We're left with a BT app that wasn't aimed at those of us who use YV for free-to-air time shifting.

    The people who look after the BT TV app are listening and trying to help where they can, though they do not have a presence on this forum.  People are welcome to email [email protected] with suggestions.

    I raised the accidental deletion on Android - it's pretty standard on Android to do it and offer undo, rather than prompt for confirmation like the YouView boxes themselves do.  It is now being looked at to see if it can be improved.

    At present I can't set a recording on anything past Tuesday next. That is also being investigated.

    On the whole, whilst I don't like the BT TV app as much for how I used the YouView app, they have done remarkably well to integrate users of other boxes.  It feels like YouView just abandoned ship having brought us in with promises.  I see the YouView web site no longer includes mention of the apps. Currys no longer sell YouView boxes, nor do some others that the YV web site shows as stockists.






  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 9,871 ✭✭✭
    Roy said:
    Visionman said:
    A HDR-FOX T2  predates a Youview T1000 MASSIVELY. So no, Sieska hasn't got one and is on the wrong forum. 
    We are all trying to avoid flat-out contradicting @Sieska, but I am coming to the conclusion that this HDR-FOX T2 is actually a YouView DTR-T1000; about the only scenario that would support it having worked in the past with the Retail App, but not now with the BT TV app.

    Something that would mean Sieska is on the right forum.
    To be or not to be.... :) Of course you could be right, we just don't know. I was asked to check and confirm my box details the other day and was shocked to see my box is 7 years old! Wow, where did that go?!?
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭
    edited 12 April 2020, 8:31AM
    Roy said:
    @kodikid, what are you for, exactly?
    Here's a few things that I would be for:

    A decent living wage for everyone especially social care and health workers 

    The world to be less obsessed with football

    a United Ireland

    a Labour administration

    WI FI enabled youview box with Disney + built in and the beeb to broadcast in 4K,

    Free FTTP broadband for everyone.
    And finally the
    Daily and Sunday Mail to go out of business.

     :) 
  • chrisa3131chrisa3131 Member Posts: 4
    edited 12 April 2020, 11:14AM
    Hoping someone can help.

    Successfully installed the BT TV app as a replacement for the YouView app. It was working well for a week or two (I paired it to my box and most TV listings showed the 'Record Episode' and 'Record Series' buttons) but now the Record buttons do not appear on any TV shows or films in the app. It's very frustrating as once again I have no option to remote record. I have updated to the latest version of the app and the box software, and tried unpairing and re-pairing the app with the box. Does anyone have any advice? 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,108 ✭✭✭
    edited 12 April 2020, 3:39PM
    Hoping someone can help.

    Successfully installed the BT TV app as a replacement for the YouView app. It was working well for a week or two (I paired it to my box and most TV listings showed the 'Record Episode' and 'Record Series' buttons) but now the Record buttons do not appear on any YTV shows or films in the app. It's very frustrating as once again I have no option to remote record. I have updated to the latest version of the app and the box software, and tried unpairing and re-pairing the app with the box. Does anyone have any advice? 
    What’s YTV?

    I don’t see the Record or Record Series options on a programme in the EPG unless I select it first; are you saying you make this selection, but don’t get the options?

    I also note that recordings I have scheduled (e.g. Wolf Hall tonight) appear in Scheduled OK, but don’t have an icon on the programme in the EPG to indicate this, like the YouView app had. So another loss of convenience from the YouView app that I hadn’t noticed before.

    EDIT: My bad. Recording on BBC4 HD, 106, where it indeed shows up, but looking at BBC4 SD, 9, where it doesn’t. Though I wish it did, to save such confusions....
    These tests for COVID-19 might get right up my nose, if only I could get one
  • LastPintDave9LastPintDave9 Member Posts: 20
    edited 12 April 2020, 11:13AM

    I have also seen the issue where you select a programme in the BT App (e.g. from search results) and it brings up the details for each transmission time, but there is no series or episode record option. It wasn't consistent; I managed to record some other programmes on those channels.
  • chrisa3131chrisa3131 Member Posts: 4
    Sorry YTV was a typo, meant 'TV'.

    Until this week I would select the TV show in the EPG and there would be an option to Record Episode or Series, now this doesn't appear on any show.
  • chrisa3131chrisa3131 Member Posts: 4
    Here's an example, normally the Record options would be roughly where I've circled but they don't appear on any TV show or movie... any ideas?

  • daztopdaztop Member Posts: 3
    @chrisa3131 @LastPintDave9 I emailed the helpdesk ([email protected]) and they replied with this:

    The app normally allows recordings to be scheduled up to 7 days in advance, however we're aware of an issue with our data provider which means programmes past Tuesday night cannot be scheduled.  We raised this with them on Friday, however things are taking longer to resolve due to the Easter weekend.
  • chrisa3131chrisa3131 Member Posts: 4
    @daztop sounds like this may be it - looking at Monday (tomorrow) the record options are there, but from Tuesday onwards nothing. Thanks very much for your help.
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭
    @daztop - welcome!
    And thanks for the very useful info.  :)
  • david1david1 Member Posts: 76 ✭✭
    Roy said:
    I also note that recordings I have scheduled (e.g. Wolf Hall tonight) appear in Scheduled OK, but don’t have an icon on the programme in the EPG to indicate this, like the YouView app had. So another loss of convenience from the YouView app that I hadn’t noticed before.
    I get recording icons in the guide (Android)
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭
    Me too. On my iPhone. Which device are you not getting this on @Roy?
Sign In or Register to comment.