MyTV YVM5303

StruttskiStruttski Member Posts: 4
Hi, 
MyTV isn't functioning insofar as the programmes I've added don't appear in the menu but are still in there according to the TV guide. Sony Bravia TV. Have been through all the steps (restart TV, restart router) but no joy. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.
Thanks. 
Tagged:

Comments

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,464 ✭✭✭
    Hi @Struttski

    Added how?
    Don’t appear in what menu?
    What is the significance of YVM5303, which I can find almost nowhere on the internet, and certainly nowhere relevant?

    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • Unfortunately I can't answer the original query, but for @Roy:
    Presumably with the record button as you might on a box.
    MyTV - Watchlist.
    Swap around a 3/5 to get YVM3503.

    Have you tried adding programmes from the TV/Films area as well as the guide?
    To save Sarah a post - have you got any specific examples of programmes which haven't appeared when you've added them (Name, Channel, Date, Time)?
  • Jeffuk1Jeffuk1 Member Posts: 43
    Is this following manually updating the latest firmware on your TV?
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,687 admin
    Struttski said:
    Hi, 
    MyTV isn't functioning insofar as the programmes I've added don't appear in the menu but are still in there according to the TV guide. Sony Bravia TV. Have been through all the steps (restart TV, restart router) but no joy. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.
    Thanks. 
    Hi @Struttski
    Welcome to the forum :)
    Can you please let us know which Sony TV model you are using along with the software version it's running on as well? This can usually be found in the About section of the Settings. 
    It'd also be useful to know if you have the TV connected directly to the router via Ethernet or if it's connected via WiFi.
    Thanks!
    Sarah

  • StruttskiStruttski Member Posts: 4
    Hi Sarah, 
    Thanks for the prompt response. Model is bravia 4k ur3. Software version is 9. The TV is connected via WiFi. Hope this helps.
    Thanks. 
  • StruttskiStruttski Member Posts: 4
    Jeffuk1 said:
    Is this following manually updating the latest firmware on your TV?
    Hi Jeff 
    No I haven't specifically updated the firmware but there have been a couple of Bavia updates automatically installed. 
  • I am also getting this error message when I press MyTV and Watch list. Well, it says "MyTV unavailable" and to search that code.

     My TV is connected via WiFi and my model number is KD-43H8096. My TV also has the latest firmware.
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,687 admin
    @william1505 @Struttski
    Thanks for getting back to me with this information. Can you please let me know the YouView app version it's running at the moment? This can be found by going to Settings (on the Sony TV homescreen) > Apps > YouView Live TV & Catch up. 
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • Sarah said:
    @william1505 @Struttski
    Thanks for getting back to me with this information. Can you please let me know the YouView app version it's running at the moment? This can be found by going to Settings (on the Sony TV homescreen) > Apps > YouView Live TV & Catch up. 
    Thanks,
    Sarah
    Hi Sarah, 

    I will attach an image as it's easier for me.

  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,687 admin
    edited 3 December 2020, 2:57PM
    Hi @william1505 @Struttski

    Can you please let me know the TV software version as well? This is found in Settings > Device Preferences > About section and it will be at the very bottom under BUILD.

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • Sarah said:
    Hi @william1505 @Struttski

    Can you please let me know the TV software version as well? This is found in Settings > Device Preferences > About section and it will be at the very bottom under BUILD (starts with PKG).

    Thanks,
    Sarah

    Hi Sarah, is this what you mean?



    Thank you,
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,687 admin
    Sarah said:
    Hi @william1505 @Struttski

    Can you please let me know the TV software version as well? This is found in Settings > Device Preferences > About section and it will be at the very bottom under BUILD (starts with PKG).

    Thanks,
    Sarah

    Hi Sarah, is this what you mean?



    Thank you,
    Yes, that's the one! They used to have a PKG on them but it looks like it's not on these TV models. Thanks for the picture :) 

    Sarah
  • StruttskiStruttski Member Posts: 4
    Hi,
    So I'm still having this problem and we didn't seem to get to a conclusion.  I've tried to Force Stop the YouView App, clear cache and clear data which sometimes works but obviously deletes everything that I've added to MyTv.  The problem then reoccurs the next time I turn the TV on so this isn't a workable solution.

    Has anyone got solution to this one as MyTv would be a really handy feature if it worked well?

    Model is bravia 4k ur3. Software version is 9. The TV is connected via WiFi.
    You View App version is 2020-11-26-d18b31ab1e
    TV Software version / Build is BRAVIA_UR3_EU-user 9 PTT1.190515.001.S92 650161 release-keys

    Thanks.
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 714 ✭✭
    Struttski said:
    Hi,
    So I'm still having this problem and we didn't seem to get to a conclusion.  I've tried to Force Stop the YouView App, clear cache and clear data which sometimes works but obviously deletes everything that I've added to MyTv.  The problem then reoccurs the next time I turn the TV on so this isn't a workable solution.

    Has anyone got solution to this one as MyTv would be a really handy feature if it worked well?

    Model is bravia 4k ur3. Software version is 9. The TV is connected via WiFi.
    You View App version is 2020-11-26-d18b31ab1e
    TV Software version / Build is BRAVIA_UR3_EU-user 9 PTT1.190515.001.S92 650161 release-keys

    Thanks.
    Hi Struttski,

    Appreciate your frustration. I too would be very annoyed. Especially if you have invested a lot of money & confidence in the Sony Brand. You are very restricted with the options on the setup menu. That would put me off in the first place.

    The more I hear about problems with Sony Tv's with built-in Youview I begin to wonder if it is a lot better to only use a separate Youview box connected to the TV. You would then have full control of being able to reset the box. I don't have a Sony tv, so can only assume you could then regain control of the Sony Tv using the full features of Freeview? Might be your solution going forwards? Easy to find for £30/40/50+ depending on the model. Recommend the BT2100 models. John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,464 ✭✭✭
    @John L

    If you spend a little time in this unhappy place:-

    https://community.sony.co.uk/t5/android-tv/bd-p/Android_TV

    might you not conclude that once you have rescued the baby, you might also consider not hanging on to the bathwater?


    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 714 ✭✭
    @Roy
    Thankfully I don't. Do you? John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,464 ✭✭✭
    John L said:
    @Roy
    Thankfully I don't. Do you? John L
    Alas yes; you will find the odd posting or two from me on there, mostly trying to help with YouView-related issues. But I haven’t been able to help much with the latest YouView issues, since how YouView is now presented seems to have changed, and the questions about this that I bring back here are going unanswered, so I may have to give it up as a bad job 😢
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 714 ✭✭
    @Roy,
    My only experience with Sony was with an Epg guide with a Pioneer Dvd Recorder ( a clone of Sony) many years back that had 2 options for user: I think it was gemstar Epg or the default one. I was getting used to one of them until they decided to remove feature linked to Epg. I feel sorry for Sony users. Does seem rather unfair, you only find out problems when you become a user. Some of the features inc. with new TVs are marketing gimmics that often get removed later on! Even Samsung have done this with several Apps. John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,464 ✭✭✭
    @John L

    I very much doubt that Sony made your Pioneer DVD recorder. What makes you think that they did?
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 714 ✭✭
    @Roy

    As I thought (going off track slightly as topic is about Sony tv's):

    https://www.avforums.com/threads/sony-str-dn1080-owners-thread.2101547/page-144

    Some models were the same menu interface, might have been a few different parts inside depending on model spec. You learn something new everyday. John L


    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,464 ✭✭✭
    John L said:
    @Roy

    As I thought (going off track slightly as topic is about Sony tv's):

    https://www.avforums.com/threads/sony-str-dn1080-owners-thread.2101547/page-144

    Some models were the same menu interface, might have been a few different parts inside depending on model spec. You learn something new everyday. John L


    @John L

    There are no matches for ‘Pioneer’ on that page.

    What am I supposed to see there, or is it a wrong link, or what?
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 714 ✭✭
    https://www.avforums.com/threads/pioneer-sony-hdd-dvd-recorders-equiavlent-models-etc.1039986/

    Apologies @Roy,
    Been a busy day today. Pasted wrong link. Here we are. John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,464 ✭✭✭
    edited 9 February 2021, 8:20AM
    John L said:
    https://www.avforums.com/threads/pioneer-sony-hdd-dvd-recorders-equiavlent-models-etc.1039986/

    Apologies @Roy,
    Been a busy day today. Pasted wrong link. Here we are. John L
    Well, you do indeed learn something new every day!

    But aren’t I learning that Sony used Pioneer DVD recorders, so Sonys were cloned from Pioneers, not the other way round? 

    So unless Sony wrote the software, or collaborated with Pioneer on it, and this joint or Sony software was on your Pioneer recorder, then you haven’t actually experienced Sony software.....
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,464 ✭✭✭
    edited 21 February 2021, 10:12AM
    Roy said:
    John L said:
    @Roy
    Thankfully I don't. Do you? John L
    Alas yes; you will find the odd posting or two from me on there, mostly trying to help with YouView-related issues. But I haven’t been able to help much with the latest YouView issues, since how YouView is now presented seems to have changed, and the questions about this that I bring back here are going unanswered, so I may have to give it up as a bad job 😢
    And now I've done that; here’s my swan song:-

    https://community.sony.co.uk/t5/android-tv/2019-model-tv-xg90-but-no-android-9/m-p/3775164#M52527

    I’ve been trying to be an ambassador for YouView on the Sony Community, even though we couldn't live with our Sony Android TV back in 2015, but being an ambassador for YouView there is a bit like being the Ambassador for Dubai 😢

    But how YouView is being provided on these sets now has changed, and despite asking for more information on this, on this Community, I don’t feel I know enough to comment sensibly any more.

    Further, the never-ending stream of issues with these sets, be they with Android, YouView, or the Sony-provided software, which I hoped Sony and YouView might mitigate in the first couple of years tops, after 2015, has continued unabated.

    So I am no longer praying to St Jude; or any other patron saint, for that matter.
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • Stevef_fr8ysStevef_fr8ys Member, Super User Posts: 402 ✭✭
    @Roy, I like you used to be all Sony, but ducked out many moons ago when I had endless trouble with my VCR (yes that long ago) transport mechanisms and Mini Disc transports. Sony, to their credit, did replace 4 VCRs, and one Mini Disc deck, but tapes and discs getting stuck and unable to be freed turned me off.

    As for my old freeview TV, well it took them 2 years to suss out how to update it when Freeview went from 2 digit to 3 digit channel numbers.

    Some things never change and some never seem to learn.

    I did take the plunge again with a Blu-ray player as I wanted something to play my SACD audio discs on, but even here I'm on my second replacement as they seem to overheat and finally not read discs due to this.
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 509
    Just to add a bit of balance, I've always had Sony set's. From the Trinitron, Bravia and now the 4K KD series . One bedroom one lounge. Always bought from John Lewis for the 5 year warranty (just in case) but honestly have never had a fault in any of them. Previous sets still going strong elsewhere. 
    Perhaps I have been lucky. 
    The Samsung set in work had to be replaced after a year as the bugger kept switching off.

    Ignore this if you disagree. 
Sign In or Register to comment.