Ethernet cable??

espanaespana Member Posts: 2
Hi everyone..I am a novice at all this and not very technical but hoping someone out there may be able to help me..So here goes..I have a Youview+ box. ..had about 3yrs at least..no problems up to now.  I cannot get catchup or on demand..I have two bt mini wi-fi home hotspots..Internet is good,checked all this with talk talk my Internet provider..Seems there may be problem with the ethernet cable that goes into the back of my youview box..I only have to touch it slightly and it comes up saying no  Internet on tv screen. Cannot seem to pair up my hotspot devices either...lights all on on hotspot device near the box but the ethernet one keeps flashing intermittently on the extender one plugged in near my router and sometimes all three lights flash off and on..PLEASE can anyone advise.cant get through on helpline..just redirect me to here..Is the problem with my wiring?or is the box faulty? Tried turning box off and on and resetting hotspots but to no avail..HELP!! anyone please.

Comments

• RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,456 ✭✭✭
    edited 6 January 2021, 5:07PM
    Greetings @espana, and welcome to the Community!

Try swapping the Ethernet cable end to end. Does the ‘wiggling it’ problem move with the end, or stay at the YouView box end?

If the former, try a replacement Ethernet cable. Make sure it is Cat6 or above. They are cheap enough, after all.

You ought to be able to get the box to work over the wifi extenders; but if you can’t get any catch-up, then you have a separate problem from whatever causes the ‘no internet’ message.

Look at Settings/Signal & Connection/Broadband Connection, and tell us what you see there.

And also please look at Settings/Information & Reset/, first Device Information and tell us Manufacturer, Model and Variant, and then Software Information and tell us Manufacturer software and Component software, if you would be so kind.