Humax Retail Software Update - New Home Screen

2456

Comments

  • 1Welshman1Welshman Member Posts: 16
    this new update appeared on tuesday morning but today it has reverted back to the old style 
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 835 ✭✭
    1Welshman said:
    this new update appeared on tuesday morning but today it has reverted back to the old style 
    That's an improvement! Think yourself lucky! John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,002 ✭✭✭
    1Welshman said:
    this new update appeared on tuesday morning but today it has reverted back to the old style 
    https://community.youview.com/youview/discussion/comment/19009298/#Comment_19009298
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • eddygeddyg Member Posts: 2
    Sarah
    You say that some boxes will be returned to original.  Can I ask when mine will because I do not like this update and I now find I can only view EIGHT recorded programmes where before I had FIVE pages of recordings and those that were a part of a series were all together, but now each episode is recorded on a separate page. Have all the pre recorded programmes been deleted, or will they reappear when it is reversed.
    Thanks
    Eddy
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,779 admin
    eddyg said:
    Sarah
    You say that some boxes will be returned to original.  Can I ask when mine will because I do not like this update and I now find I can only view EIGHT recorded programmes where before I had FIVE pages of recordings and those that were a part of a series were all together, but now each episode is recorded on a separate page. Have all the pre recorded programmes been deleted, or will they reappear when it is reversed.
    Thanks
    Eddy
    Hi @eddyg

    When you click on MyTV on the main menu, you should have all your recordings in there. The tiles to the right will show your most recent recordings.



    If your recordings are not appearing when you go into MyTV, can you please take some photos of what you see so we can look into this? 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • annewebberannewebber Member Posts: 12
    The new youview welcome screen via my humax box does not allow access to my recordings. All the show when I press the blue youview button is a list of programmes with headings such as "most popular" "just added" etc. On the website the welcome page show headings such as "live TV" "featured apps" "recordings and watch list" But none of these show on my welcome page. How do I access all my recordings on my humax hard drive?
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,779 admin
    The new youview welcome screen via my humax box does not allow access to my recordings. All the show when I press the blue youview button is a list of programmes with headings such as "most popular" "just added" etc. On the website the welcome page show headings such as "live TV" "featured apps" "recordings and watch list" But none of these show on my welcome page. How do I access all my recordings on my humax hard drive?
    Hi @annewebber
    You should be able to access your recordings by scrolling down on the home screen and clicking on MyTV with your remote. Do your recordings appear when you go in here? 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • annewebberannewebber Member Posts: 12
    No, as I said I have none of the options such as "my TV"  "apps" "live TV" etc appear - just a list of programmes I could watch
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,779 admin
    No, as I said I have none of the options such as "my TV"  "apps" "live TV" etc appear - just a list of programmes I could watch
    Hi @annewebber
    Can you please take a photo of this so we can see what you mean?
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • annewebberannewebber Member Posts: 12
    edited 10 March 2021, 2:31PM
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,779 admin
    Hi @annewebber
    It doesn't look like the image has attached to your post. You can try re-adding it by pressing the down arrow in the corner of your post and selecting edit or if it's still not working, please email it to [email protected]
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • annewebberannewebber Member Posts: 12
    edited 10 March 2021, 2:36PM
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,779 admin
    edited 10 March 2021, 2:48PM
    Here is a photo of what I see Screenshot 2021-03-10 143016.png
    Thanks Anne. I assume if you press the back button, this exits this section completely? 
    Can you try rebooting your box to see if this changes anything? You can do this by pressing and holding the power button on the front of the box for about 8 seconds. 
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • annewebberannewebber Member Posts: 12
    Yes pressing the back button just exits the screen. Yes I have tried re-booting.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,002 ✭✭✭
    @annewebber

    what is the make and model of your YouView box, and who is your ISP?

    And I’m a bit intrigued by that Radio 4 background. Where is that coming from?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,779 admin
    Yes pressing the back button just exits the screen. Yes I have tried re-booting.
    Thank you, Anne. I've sent you a private message about this so we can look into it further.
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • annewebberannewebber Member Posts: 12
    I tried to reply to your email but it bounced back.
    The trouble is that when I press the blue youview button the option for settings does not come up like it used to. So I cannot get into the settings - as the picture shows all that comes up is programmes to watch.
    The box is a humax box and the only details on the box are a series of bar codes with the following numbers:
    DTR-T2000/GB/1TB
    91-00558
    S/N 63 7107244 00164
    Mac Address 40-3D-EC-0F-F6-B9
    5H
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,779 admin
    I tried to reply to your email but it bounced back.
    The trouble is that when I press the blue youview button the option for settings does not come up like it used to. So I cannot get into the settings - as the picture shows all that comes up is programmes to watch.
    The box is a humax box and the only details on the box are a series of bar codes with the following numbers:
    DTR-T2000/GB/1TB
    91-00558
    S/N 63 7107244 00164
    Mac Address 40-3D-EC-0F-F6-B9
    5H
    Hi Anne,

    Sorry to hear that. I don't think you can respond to direct messages on here through the email method, I think it has to be through the forum. 

    Can you please try a Maintenance Mode reset (option 2, keep recordings) to see if this helps things at all? 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • annewebberannewebber Member Posts: 12
    @roy It's a humax and use BT broadband. Radio four is just one of the you view channels
     
  • annewebberannewebber Member Posts: 12
    @roy It's a humax and use BT broadband. Radio four is just one of the you view channels

    @sarah I have tried to follow the instructions in the "maintenance rest Mode reset" as follows
    1. Unplug and reconnect power to your box

    2. Press and hold the down navigation touch button  on the front of the box for 5 seconds, until you see Enter Maintenance Mode Y/N (Y:POWER) prompt

     
    But when I press the "down navigation touch button" as instructed nothing happens - no message nothing
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 835 ✭✭
    edited 10 March 2021, 5:32PM

    But when I press the "down navigation touch button" as instructed nothing happens - no message nothing
    Hi @annewebber,
    You must be very frustrated! I know my mother would be without me helping when the Youview box has problems. 

    Turn off box, but at SAME time, KEEP your finger firmly on the Button as per instructions @sarah sent you, when you turn power back on/it will boot up. Follow instructions, as per screen prompt boot menu/select: maintenance mode option 2. It won't work unless you do this. It will boot up past boot prompt before you get chance to access the menu. Hence you need to be next to box at the same time as unplugging/turning back on at power. Hope this may help you Anne!  John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • tm5tm5 Member Posts: 1

    Hi Sarah,

    I'm pleased to see that my Humax T2000 box has reverted to the old software, which is a far more elegant design and smoother in operation.  I am concerned that my PVR will be hobbled when the new software is pushed out again.  It is fussy and jerky in comparison.

    Is there any way I can prevent the update, other than implementing firewall rules?

    I have appreciated the work YouView have done to keep my PVR relevant until now.  Speed of operation and efficient access to Recordings are important to me.

    Thanks, tm5


  • eddygeddyg Member Posts: 2
    Sarah
    Just to update you, the problem was the way I was trying to use it. So thank you for your advice but when you are 77 going on 78 change does not come easy.  I now have SEVEN pages of programmes that I have previously recorded but i still think the original home screen was better. But thanks again because I thought I had lost most of my recordings.
    Cheers
    Eddy
  • annewebberannewebber Member Posts: 12
    @John@sarah
    Thanks for the message. I tried this - holding the down navigation button as the same time as unplugging & turning back on. But all that happened was whilst I was pushing the down navigation the screen was blank except for the words "HDMI" and "no signal" Held it for 5 seconds then when I let go it just starting "waking up" as usual. Yes - I am very frustrated!
  • annewebberannewebber Member Posts: 12
    @sarah Hi I see my Humax T2000 box has gone back to the old initial menu and I can now access my recordings etc. Will this be permanent?
    I hope so as yesterday was quite frustrating.
    Thanks for you help
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 835 ✭✭
    @John@sarah
    Thanks for the message. I tried this - holding the down navigation button as the same time as unplugging & turning back on. But all that happened was whilst I was pushing the down navigation the screen was blank except for the words "HDMI" and "no signal" Held it for 5 seconds then when I let go it just starting "waking up" as usual. Yes - I am very frustrated!
    Hi @annewebber,
    Hopefully @Sarah at Youview can assist you further. There is a knack to doing the procedure & it's not difficult, but you need more support from Youview who have caused the inconvenience for you. Hope your box is back to "normal" today. John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 835 ✭✭
    @sarah Hi I see my Humax T2000 box has gone back to the old initial menu and I can now access my recordings etc. Will this be permanent?
    I hope so as yesterday was quite frustrating.
    Thanks for you help
    Just seen your other message @annewebber
    "thankfully", you can now access your recordings. The answer to your question lies with Youview. I would ask @sarah this question. This has wasted your time + added stress! We already have enough stress at the moment with Covid19. Have a good day Anne. John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • Bruce ClarkeBruce Clarke Member Posts: 32
    edited 11 March 2021, 3:02PM
    My T2000 has thankfully reverted. The old home screen showed all the options at once. The new one has to be scrolled to see them, which is a backwards step. I hope you reconsider the change. I don't find it useful being able to scroll right straight away to the first available programmes. I prefer to select the section I want, then choose from the full screen list at the second level screen. If the change goes ahead, please give us the option to keep the old layout. Also, whereas the old tabs obviously led to the second level screens, the new small icon on the left of each section is obviously confusing people, not inviting click through clearly.
  • Disaster for me. Where are all the episodes displayed? Where have all my locked old recordings gone and why when last night I selected from the MyTv line would it only play the episode from the ITV web hub.. I record itv to be able to skip all the adverts. Itonly seem to find the last made recording. I am using Humax DT 2000
    Where do we now see the recording space usage?
  • StephenStephen Member Posts: 757 ✭✭✭✭✭
    @michaelshergold scroll down and press ok on the MyTV button on the left of the recordings row? That should take you to the same fullscreen MyTV area that you're used to?

    Just think of the new Home screen as the old Main Menu but rotated by 90 degrees - all the old sections and thumbnail carousels are still there, and everything is the same number of keypresses away as it used to be. Nothing has been taken away - where you pressed OK on a tab heading to view the full version (of what the summary in the Main Menu was showing you), you can now still press OK on the button on the left end of the carousels to do the same.
Sign In or Register to comment.