BT software update 32.53.0 / 3.7.54

SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,725 admin
edited 8 March 2021, 6:45PM in Announcements
Hi all, 

Please use this thread to discuss the most recent BT Software Update 32.53.0 / 3.7.54 for T2xxx & T4000 devices.

With this release, we have resolved an issue on T4000 devices where users were experiencing buffering/freezing on Now TV

Please note that this is a phased release so not all boxes will receive it at the same time. 

Thanks,
Sarah
«1

Comments

  • Ken Hill1Ken Hill1 Member Posts: 258 ✭✭
    Sarah said:
    Hi all, 

    Please use this thread to discuss the most recent BT Software Update 32.53.0 / 3.7.54 for T2xxx & T4000 devices.

    With this release, we have resolved an issue on T4000 devices where users were experiencing buffering/freezing on Now TV

    Please note that this is a phased release so not all boxes will receive it at the same time. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
    Sarah is this to do with your on-demand movies and entertainment and the breaking up picture of entertainment and movies has been fixed with this software?
  • Ken Hill1Ken Hill1 Member Posts: 258 ✭✭
    Yes it's been fixed thanks thanks Sarah :D
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    I find my BT box had been updated and the Record button no longer works, I can't find how to record anything now. I am not going to do a factory reset as that will wipe my recordings. Details are
    Box is DTRT2110
    sw is component 3.7.42 manufacturer 32.51.0
    I am very unhappy as was unaware the SW would change and lost the whole point of the box.
    John Webb 

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭
    edited 15 March 2021, 7:59AM
    Sarah said:
    Hi all, 

    Please use this thread to discuss the most recent BT Software Update 32.53.0 / 3.7.54 for T2xxx & T4000 devices.

    With this release, we have resolved an issue on T4000 devices where users were experiencing buffering/freezing on Now TV

    Please note that this is a phased release so not all boxes will receive it at the same time. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
    @Sarah

    https://support.youview.com/youview-box/software-updates/latest-software-versions/

    erroneously says 32.51.0 for this release, not 32.53.0, though it does link through to 32.53.0
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    But the software is the latest available to me and has stopped me recording anything. Box suddenly useless to me. It worked perfectly until the 'improvements'. I can't find any fix. 
  • walksterwalkster Member Posts: 4
    I have a BT 2110 box, this latest software update has really messed up my box and cannot resolve.

    I lost freeview HD channels, pixelated all BBC channels, pixelated a number of other freeview channels.

    Tried a factory reset to get a clean update, still problems. Retuned several times, lost channels, and still problems !

    I know the problems are associated with the BT box as when I disconnect the aerial from the box and connect direct to the TV, I have no picture problems.

    Youview owe me a new box, as until this latest update all was fine !

    Tell me who to contact ...one disgruntled customer !
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭
    John Webb said:
    But the software is the latest available to me and has stopped me recording anything. Box suddenly useless to me. It worked perfectly until the 'improvements'. I can't find any fix. 
    @John Webb

    This thread is for 32.53.0/3.7.54 though, not your 32.51.0/3.7.42, which is the previous release, and is indeed the latest one for your BT Retail box, if the page I cite above is to be believed.

    So your sub-thread is likely to get forked.

    But no matter. Absent any other reports of this update wrecking BT Retail boxes, though, we have to regard your issues as a one-off; either something went wrong in the update process, or your box has gone wrong subsequently, and it only seems to have come from the update.

    Whichever, the correct course of action now is to carry out one or more Maintenance Mode updates, as in:-
    https://support.youview.com/youview-box/box-and-remote/using-maintenance-mode/

    Start with Option 2, which will not delete your recordings. If this runs successfully, then do an Option 4, which will likewise not delete your recordings, but will refetch the latest software available to you, to ensure your update is as it should be.

    Then try the box again, to see if it now works OK.

    If not, or if the Option 2 above would not run after several tries, then there is nothing for it but to do an Option 5; this will delete your recordings, alas (so you might want to watch them first) but is the most thorough reset you can do.

    If this gets the box recording again, fine; this is the best you can do. But if not, then you do indeed have the coincidental hardware failure I described as possible above, and the box is bricked.

    But let’s hope that one of the earlier steps rescues it before it comes to this.

    Do please let us know how you get on.

    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭
    edited 15 March 2021, 9:01AM
    walkster said:
    I have a BT 2110 box, this latest software update has really messed up my box and cannot resolve.

    I lost freeview HD channels, pixelated all BBC channels, pixelated a number of other freeview channels.

    Tried a factory reset to get a clean update, still problems. Retuned several times, lost channels, and still problems !

    I know the problems are associated with the BT box as when I disconnect the aerial from the box and connect direct to the TV, I have no picture problems.

    Youview owe me a new box, as until this latest update all was fine !

    Tell me who to contact ...one disgruntled customer !
    @walkster

    Greetings, and welcome to the Community!

    Sorry to hear of your issues. But, according to:-
    https://support.youview.com/youview-box/software-updates/latest-software-versions/
    the BT Retail 2110 boxes do not yet have this latest update.

    So can you please check your release details (YouView help on exactly where you look for this doesn’t seem to be forthcoming, but it’s in Settings somewhere) and see which one you actually have?

    But if you did a real Factory Reset, again from Settings, and not something lesser, it sounds like your box has failed.

    How old is it?

    Your remedy, if any, will be a replacement under the warranty, from the retailer who supplied it, as long as the warranty is still in force. Not BT (though that might be worth a try) and certainly not YouView themselves.

    Theoretically, stuff is supposed to last up to six years in the UK, but getting redress on that basis will not be straightforward 😢
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • walksterwalkster Member Posts: 4

    Model: DTRT2110
    Component Software: 3.7.42
    Software: 32.51.0
    Config: 4747

    So it appears the latest update has not been downloaded, my error.

    The full factory reset was from setting.

    The box was purchased on 23rd June 2018, so no warranty will be available, but expect them to last longer. They don't appear to be available anymore.
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    I had forgotten about maintenance mode updates in the different stages. This box has simply worked up to now but I remember the first boxes when I was a Beta tester! I will try that when I have time later but was wondering if there was going to be a later release for my box which corrected the problem.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭
    John Webb said:
    I had forgotten about maintenance mode updates in the different stages. This box has simply worked up to now but I remember the first boxes when I was a Beta tester! I will try that when I have time later but was wondering if there was going to be a later release for my box which corrected the problem.
    @John Webb

    The release this thread should be exclusively about will no doubt reach your box in the near future, as the update for Retail usually starts when the rollout for BT subscription boxes is complete.

    However, it won’t contain a fix for your problem, as there is no acknowledged generic fault that needs fixing in the release you have.

    It is therefore a crapshoot as to whether:-
    the release will update your box and the local fault you have will go;
    the release will update your box, but the local fault you have will persist;
    the release will fail to update your box due to the local fault you have.

    You therefore need to attempt to resolve the local fault now, by the methods outlined above, to fix any repairable software issues, or to determine if you have an unfixable hardware issue.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • PaulpPaulp Member Posts: 2
    I cannot play anything on Netflix after the software update at the beginning of March.

    Device: DTRT4000 87B08500
    Software 32.53.0   3.7.54 

    Loading any title on the Netflix app now shows this message.
    "We’re having trouble playing this title at the moment. Please try again later or select a different title" tvq-pb-101 (5.6.1)

    I have spoken to Netflix and they tell me that it is a firmware issue with the BT box and there is nothing they can do. Netflix works fine on other devices like iPad.

    I have done a factory reset (keeping recordings) and the issue still exists. 'Update software'  and 'Update apps' are both showing its running the latest versions.

    Other apps like iPlayer and Prime are working fine.  Netflix was working fine prior to this software update.

    Are there any fixes for this?  
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭
    Paulp said:
    DI cannot play anything on Netflix after the software update at the beginning of March.

    Device: DTRT4000 87B08500
    Software 32.53.0   3.7.54 

    Loading any title on the Netflix app now shows this message.
    "We’re having trouble playing this title at the moment. Please try again later or select a different title" tvq-pb-101 (5.6.1)

    I have spoken to Netflix and they tell me that it is a firmware issue with the BT box and there is nothing they can do. Netflix works fine on other devices like iPad.

    I have done a factory reset (keeping recordings) and the issue still exists. 'Update software'  and 'Update apps' are both showing its running the latest versions.

    Other apps like iPlayer and Prime are working fine.  Netflix was working fine prior to this software update.

    Are there any fixes for this?  
    Greetings, @Paulp and welcome to the Community!

    This Netflix?

    Working fine here, on the YouView box shown, my DTR-T4000 on the same release you describe.

    You might want to try a Maintenance Mode Option 2 on your box, and see if that will resolve the issue, unless you have already done so:-

    https://support.youview.com/youview-box/box-and-remote/using-maintenance-mode/

    Failing that, try the Get Help options on the Netflix Main Menu, if you can access it, and see if any of those resolve it.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • PaulpPaulp Member Posts: 2
    It gets that far then when it starts playing it shows this for every title.


    This is the device info in the netflix app

    If all else fails I'll have to try Maintenance Mode Option 2
    I've tried the Help options on the Netflix Main Menu and contacted Netflix with no luck. They keep saying its an issue with the device.

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭
    @Paulp

    My settings are the same as yours, except my ESN (YouView-assigned Electronic Serial Number) is naturally different, as these should be unique to our respective boxes.

    Apart from that, your settings and mine there are all the same, except that the 7- in your UI Build is 12- in mine. 

    I have been unable to find any explanation of how UI Build is constructed, or what the various bits of it mean. Perhaps it varies with whether you have an HD or a UHD subscription? I have the latter.

    That ‘More Details’ in your first screenshot should be an option you can move to; what does it show?

    I am sure Netflix are right when they say it is your device; but in the absence of other reports, we have to assume it is something on your device, like a corrupted cache, rather than an issue with the YouView software update.

    I assume you have tried the Reload Netflix and Exit Netflix options, Signed out and Signed in again to no avail? If not, try those now.

    And if still no go, the MM2 is quite low impact - it preserves all your recordings - and well worth trying, as it should clear any caches YouView might be holding that could disrupt Netflix.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • wynjerwynjer Member Posts: 3
    The Prime Video app on my DTR-T2110 box has become really slow since the update to 3.7.54. Also some crashes. What can I do?
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭
    wynjer said:
    The Prime Video app on my DTR-T2110 box has become really slow since the update to 3.7.54. Also some crashes. What can I do?
    @wynjer

    What have you tried so far to fix this?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • wynjerwynjer Member Posts: 3
    I've done a software reset from maintenance mode but no change. I originally contacted Amazon regarding this issue but got a generic, clear cache, uninstall / reinstall reply. I did point out that this is not an Android app.
    The app is just really slow to respond to the remote and occasionally crashes unexpectedly. Just scrolling down the menu takes seconds at a time.
  • Ken Hill1Ken Hill1 Member Posts: 258 ✭✭
    wynjer said:
    I've done a software reset from maintenance mode but no change. I originally contacted Amazon regarding this issue but got a generic, clear cache, uninstall / reinstall reply. I did point out that this is not an Android app.
    The app is just really slow to respond to the remote and occasionally crashes unexpectedly. Just scrolling down the menu takes seconds at a time.
    I've got the same problem on the same box what I did I rebooted the box and it was lot faster but not too fast.

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭
    I’ve just tried it on my T4000, same software release you have, and it’s snappy - no unexpected delays, and no crashes, though I have only had it on for about ten minutes.

    Are all your other apps unaffected - Netflix, say, or Now maybe?

    And broadcast is fine, scrolling in the EPG left/right and up and down?

    And you have checked that the batteries in your remote aren’t failing?

    I see you have contacted Amazon, who have suggested a bunch of things you can’t do on a YouView box, but presumably you have tried signing out of the app, and signing back in?

    With Maintenance Mode, if you have used Option 2, that is the best you can get, I think, though you might want to try the sequence of signing out of Prime, then doing the MM2, then signing in again,

    Another thing to try might be powering down your router, waiting at least 2 minutes and then powering it up again, just in case the router is holding a grudge against Prime.

    Please keep us posted, unlike the DBP above your postings, who never came back 😢
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • zulu17zulu17 Member, Super User Posts: 1,068 ✭✭
    edited 8 May 2021, 7:25PM
    Been mentioned  in BT community  -
    Raised  with the (BT) TV team who’ve confirmed they’re investigating the problem and working with Youview to address this with Amazon.

    relevant thread is




  • wynjerwynjer Member Posts: 3
    Broadcast TV is fine as are iPlayer, Netflix and other apps. I have two BT Youview boxes and they both have the issue. Logged out of the app, restarted the router, logged back in and it doesn't seem to have made any difference at all.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭
    edited 9 May 2021, 8:57PM
    wynjer said:
    Broadcast TV is fine as are iPlayer, Netflix and other apps. I have two BT Youview boxes and they both have the issue. Logged out of the app, restarted the router, logged back in and it doesn't seem to have made any difference at all.
    Yes, it looks like @zulu17 has the inside skinny; my advice was based on the assumption that this was an individual problem, where the BT Forum is showing it isn’t.

    Have to wait for BT/YouView/Amazon to fix this then, and roll out a new release, unless there is a workaround in the meantime.

    As Jack Reacher says, when I assume, I make an ‘ ****’ of ‘u’ and ‘me’….😢
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • ruburgruburg Member Posts: 2
    Since the update happened everything takes longer and the record button no longer works making the box useless. We only purchased it last year to record and now we can't do that. Please tell me how we can fix this or remove the latest update, this is ridiculous!
  • DarrenDarren Member, Super User Posts: 507 ✭✭
    I have not found the record button no longer works but you can no longer cancel a recording that's already started without going to the channel then pressing record to cancel the recording.
  • ruburgruburg Member Posts: 2
    Sarah said:
    Hi all, 

    Please use this thread to discuss the most recent BT Software Update 32.53.0 / 3.7.54 for T2xxx & T4000 devices.

    With this release, we have resolved an issue on T4000 devices where users were experiencing buffering/freezing on Now TV

    Please note that this is a phased release so not all boxes will receive it at the same time. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
    Hi Sarah, since the update our box will no longer record. The button on the remote lights up but gets no repose from the box. The button on the box does nothing and nor can it be told to record from the BT tv app. If I'm in an app and press record the message appears saying you can't record on demand programmes so it is clearly receiving the signal. Also all of the scheduled recording have been deleted. The box is now useless to us and less than a year old. Please can you advise how and when youview will be fixing this issue? Our box is a humax dtrt 2100.
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭
    edited 25 May 2021, 6:48PM
    The software that this thread relates to has been superseded by a later version @ruburg.
    Software updates don't disable the box recording function, so consider starting a new thread, describing in detail the problem(s) that you are experiencing with your box.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭
    @ruburg

    There is no generic problem causing this, or we would have had many more reports, and as @jonesh describes, there has been another update since, anyway.

    There is a separate problem in which iOS devices updated to version 14.5 no longer pair with the BT App, which BT will be rolling out a fix for after the important footie in the next couple of weeks. Could this explain your issues with the app?

    But every YouView update is a crapshoot in which a few boxes fall by the wayside, either because they were already on the way out and the stress of the update was just too much for them, or because the update, despite all the precautions that YouView take, didn’t go quite right.

    Touch the On/Standby button on your box for just over 8 seconds, until it soft reboots. See if this fixes things. Come back for more drastic options if not.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • VeryAnnoyedVeryAnnoyed Member Posts: 4
    I am outraged that this unsolicited, and evidently un-removable update should have been applied without warning. It has significantly altered the user interface and to the detriment of the product. To me it is little different from the manufacturer of one's car breaking in to it during the night and replacing the steering wheel with a joy stick.

    Let me elaborate my concerns. When one presses the Y button there is now set of icons arranged in columns, the first of which states that one is watching Live TV, when this was already obvious. To the right of this icon there is succession of mosaics for different channels. What benefit does this add? Surely people could already change channel without drama, and to use this apparently new method one has to use the very fiddly arrow keys on the remote, which is difficult because they are surrounded by an outer series of other keys.

    Then, below the Live TV icon we see an Apps icon, and only below this do we find My TV. Since I use the box almost entirely for watching recorded programs this means extra key presses to get to my recordings. It was unnecessarily awkward even before the update and this has made it worse. Why couldn't there always have been a single button on the remote marked 'My Recordings' so that users such as me can quickly get to where was wish to without all of the Apps rubbish and Watch Lists etc. getting in the way? And below the My TV icon there are further icons that are of no interest to me. If these have to be there by default there should be a way for users to reorder and remove the items in the list.

    I consider this update to have destroyed my box. I have disconnected it from the internet and once I have, with difficulty, watched the recordings made to date, I intend to destroy it. For future recordings I will for the moment use my 14 year old Humax standard definition box, which mercifully does not have an internet connection.

    I will not buy another Youview box. I also assume that BT's cavalier application of this forced update is indicative of their general approach, so I intend to cease purchasing my broadband service from them once the current contractual term has expired.

    It seems reasonably obvious that the aim of this update is to steer users towards watching programs over IP rather than the terrestrial TV signal, perhaps because BT wishes further to embed its position as a provider of broadband. BT once claimed to put its customers first, but clearly those days are gone. Absolute rubbish.


  • VeryAnnoyedVeryAnnoyed Member Posts: 4
    In case it's relevant the box details are as follows:
    Component Software: 3.7.76 (428106)
    Manufacturer Software: 32.53.0
    Platform Configuration: 4779 (4c439e24)
    ISP Configuration: 2201308

    If an update is necessary to fix a bug then fine, but DON'T CHANGE THE USER INTERFACE!

Sign In or Register to comment.