Humax Retail Software Update - New Home Screen

1246

Comments

  • youviewer123youviewer123 Member Posts: 2
    Hi jonesh,
    Unfortunately I can't post a picture just yet as it's my in-laws' box.  But it is the new home screen very similar to what's shown here https://support.youview.com/homescreen/
    From other recent threads, it seems it's been rolled out to some DTR-T1000's by mistake. I wished they'd roll it back!
    The issue is not the number of button pushes to access Myview, but the fact it's no longer visible on the home screen and no indication that you have to scroll down to find it.


  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,996 ✭✭✭
    jonesh said:
    By elderly in-laws have used a Humax DTR-T1000 for the last 7 years to watch live and recorded TV. They are familiar with the basic recording and playback functions, but are too old to learn new tricks.
    Without warning, their box has updated to the new Youview home screen. I didn't even know this was a thing and had to search the internet to find any information about it. Hence why I'm now here.
    There seems to be no user guide for the new UI but I discovered that you need to use the remote to scroll down to hidden menus to find Myview and from this, the recorded programmes, but this isn't intuitive and is beyond the capabilities of my in-laws.https://support.youview.com/homescreen/
    Can anyone provide instructions please so I can roll back the software on the DTR-T1000 to what my in-laws are familiar with?
    From what I'm reading on this forum, Youview don't seem to have consulted much with their customers before making this major change to the home screen.  Or ex customers as they will soon be known as.
    Could you post a picture of the new Homescreen on a DTR-T1000 please?
    According to this New Homescreen information page, and this Latest box versions page, the new Homescreen has so far only been rolled out to DTR-T2000 boxes.
    I wasn't expecting DTR-T1000s to get the new Homescreen. Ours hasn't got it, but I would be interested to know if it is on its way.   :)

    edit. It has always taken several button presses to get to Myview.
    @Youviewer123

    The T1000 is a black box with a screen display on the box. Can you check, or ask your in-laws, if their box perhaps has a silver front, and no screen display?

    The simplest way to look at the changes is that YouView have taken the horizontal row of options on the old menu, and then made them a vertical list instead. This then allows them to show a series of thumbnails against each one.

    And the leftmost item on the row is exactly the same as it was when it was in the horizontal row; you click on it, and you drill down to the next level. So no more ‘hidden’ than they were before.

    And no, there is no way you can roll it back; YouView can, though, so ask them to do it.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • countryman2countryman2 Member Posts: 48
    Well, having suffered the new update for a while now on my T2000, my original views have not changed one bit.  Awful.  You can also now add sluggish.  As has already been said, the Apps are very slow compared to a modern 'smart' TV.  If/when the T2000 dies, I can see us not bothering to replace with a box that has YouView.
  • macscomacsco Member Posts: 1
    edited March 25
    Absolutely disastrous update.
    Need extra clicks wandering about all the clutter. I HATE IT.
    Can I undo this update?
    I want to go back. 
    DTR2000.
    I also have a DTRT1000 that has not yet been infected. Is it possible to disable ALL future updates?
  • Bruce ClarkeBruce Clarke Member Posts: 32
    I don't understand what's happening. My T2000 briefly had the ghastly new Home screen, then reverted the next day. It is now on Humax Retail software 32.53.10 / 3.7.66, which is the latest, but still thankfully on the old design. Has the new design been rolled out to some T2000s and not others? If so, how is that possible with the same software version?

  • Louise MurdochLouise Murdoch Administrator Posts: 102 admin
    Hi Bruce,

    There are different mechanisms for updating the different components on YouView STBs. For some of the recently added features we are using a config switch to enable/disable features across the various device types. So in this case the software isn't being rolled back, but we can control how many of each device type have the feature enabled.

    Thanks,
    Louise.
  • Bruce ClarkeBruce Clarke Member Posts: 32
    Hi Louise,
    Thanks for the explanation. You have the power, I hope you use it wisely! Is the new Home screen update likely to go out to all T2000s unchanged, or are you working to address the criticisms first? Or even keep the original design which for me is much better, and works just fine.
    Thanks, Bruce

  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 739 ✭✭
    That "power" will be restored 9am Monday. 
    Ignore this if you disagree. 
  • LebowskiLebowski Member Posts: 82 ✭✭
    Hi Louise 
    Could you explain why the new design is more sluggish. While I'm perfectly happy with it as it is I expect I'd adapt to change of look (if forced to) but was concerned about it being slower. Thanks

  • AKAK Member Posts: 53
    I have 2 T2000 devices, in early March both boxes had the new home screen but when I looked a day later one box had reverted to the previous version of the home screen, I saw that some boxes had the new home screen removed after the initial rollout so that a phased rollout could be undertaken and a proper assessment carried out.
    However I have noticed that in the settings on the box where the new home screen version was removed the software information is shown as 32.53.10/3.7.72, this is exactly the same as the software information on the box which has the new home screen. How is this possible, surely the box that does not have the new home screen would have a different software version than the box with the new home screen?
    Can you also give me any indication of when the new home screen rollout will be completed?
    Thank you.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,996 ✭✭✭
    edited April 1
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • AKAK Member Posts: 53
    Thanks Roy, I did see the comments from Louise Murdoch but I did not really understand it, does it mean you can have the latest software update without having the new homescreen?
  • AKAK Member Posts: 53
    And can anyone give me any idea of when the home screen rollout will be completed? Thanks.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,996 ✭✭✭
    AK said:
    Thanks Roy, I did see the comments from Louise Murdoch but I did not really understand it, does it mean you can have the latest software update without having the new homescreen?
    Yes
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,996 ✭✭✭
    edited April 6
    AK said:
    And can anyone give me any idea of when the home screen rollout will be completed? Thanks.
    Normally six to eight weeks
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • AKAK Member Posts: 53
    Thanks for the info.
  • AndyA55AndyA55 Member Posts: 1
    The fresh layout is a stupid one. Remember that the box is targeted to people who can use a TV, not those who use web browsers all day.
    My box was reprogrammed without my consent. It is now virtually unusable. I checked, and the fastest I could get it to respond to ANY button press in the menus was THREE SECONDS. Deleting a single recorded programme took TWENTY SECONDS!! On the old version this would take a maximum of 3 seconds, for the case where the file was fragmented all over the drive.
    I tried power-cycling in the hope that a fresh loading would be quicker. It wasn't. Rebooting took over 30 minutes as more than one attempt was needed. "Youview" and a moving dot for 20 minutes is not a helpful message.
    I know that the stuff is written in Java, but there is good Java and bad Java. You need to hire people who can write the good sort.

    Maybe if the design didn't have to extract thumbnail images from 40 different places before actioning each keypress it might be more responsive?

    I hate to think what will happen when my aunt's BT box has this abomination forced on it. She is 95 and has mild dementia. After the last big change it needed eight visits from me before she could locate her recordings unaided. Having to teach her that her arthritic fingers are much too fast for her fancy new electronics will be VERY difficult.
  • Tim CTim C Member, Super User Posts: 585 ✭✭
    edited April 6
    If you're able to set up URL blocking in your aunt's router I can give you the details you need.
    Actually the details are on page 1 of this thread.
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 834 ✭✭
    edited April 6
    AndyA55 said:
    The fresh layout is a stupid one. Remember that the box is targeted to people who can use a TV, not those who use web browsers all day.
    My box was reprogrammed without my consent. It is now virtually unusable. I checked, and the fastest I could get it to respond to ANY button press in the menus was THREE SECONDS. Deleting a single recorded programme took TWENTY SECONDS!! On the old version this would take a maximum of 3 seconds, for the case where the file was fragmented all over the drive.
    I tried power-cycling in the hope that a fresh loading would be quicker. It wasn't. Rebooting took over 30 minutes as more than one attempt was needed. "Youview" and a moving dot for 20 minutes is not a helpful message.
    I know that the stuff is written in Java, but there is good Java and bad Java. You need to hire people who can write the good sort.

    Maybe if the design didn't have to extract thumbnail images from 40 different places before actioning each keypress it might be more responsive?

    I hate to think what will happen when my aunt's BT box has this abomination forced on it. She is 95 and has mild dementia. After the last big change it needed eight visits from me before she could locate her recordings unaided. Having to teach her that her arthritic fingers are much too fast for her fancy new electronics will be VERY difficult.
    Yes, I wonder how many of the Youview design team actually have parents in their 80's/90's that use Youview boxes? I totally agree with you @andya55. My Elderly mother is dreading the homepage update. She has seen it on my trial box in the other room. If she doesn't get on with it, will have to look elsewhere for a Freeview pvr. My impression is that Youview are only focused on new designs and not remembering that not everyone likes the design being forced on users. John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • Tim CTim C Member, Super User Posts: 585 ✭✭
    In terms of usability for older users I think the Panasonic range is a good fit. The remote is far better in terms of spacing than the Humax/BT Youview one and you get 1 press access to recordings, guide etc. By 1 press I mean press that button and , providing the TV accepts CEC control properly, the TV is turned on and switched to the correct input. Plus from the guide you get options for SD or HD and the ability to add padding.
    The interface is probably suited better to older users anyway - lists not tiles etc.
  • countryman2countryman2 Member Posts: 48
    @Tim C.  Tim, that list of URL's to block...are they up-to-date, do you know.  I set them up in my router and tried an Update software option thinking it would throw a wobbler and complain 'No access' but it found a newer version and updated !  
  • Tim CTim C Member, Super User Posts: 585 ✭✭
    @Tim C.  Tim, that list of URL's to block...are they up-to-date, do you know.  I set them up in my router and tried an Update software option thinking it would throw a wobbler and complain 'No access' but it found a newer version and updated !  

    I truly hope the list is accurate. It does goes back a few years now so maybe something has changed. But I guess I'll find out in the coming months if mine get updated.
  • countryman2countryman2 Member Posts: 48
    Well, I went into Services, System information and selected Update Software.  So if you were feeling lucky, you could try that as well !  How did you come across those URLs ?
  • countryman2countryman2 Member Posts: 48
    Another 'feature'?  I've just noticed that the thumbnails that you see against Recordings is now looking very granular and rather poor TBH.  
  • Tim CTim C Member, Super User Posts: 585 ✭✭
    Well, I went into Services, System information and selected Update Software.  So if you were feeling lucky, you could try that as well !  How did you come across those URLs ?

    It could be that these URLs are more relevant for BT units rather than Humax retail units.
    I found these some years ago on this forum btw.
  • countryman2countryman2 Member Posts: 48
    Tim C said:
    Well, I went into Services, System information and selected Update Software.  So if you were feeling lucky, you could try that as well !  How did you come across those URLs ?

    It could be that these URLs are more relevant for BT units rather than Humax retail units.
    I found these some years ago on this forum btw.
    OK..sounds like I need to get the packet-sniffer out !
  • countryman2countryman2 Member Posts: 48
    As far as I can see only one of those URLs is still 'live'.  But blocking it, doesn't inhibit updates sadly.
  • Tim CTim C Member, Super User Posts: 585 ✭✭
    I think I can explain.
    In my router's firewall for URL blocking if i enter "youview" then ANY url with "youview" in the string will be blocked and that's the way I assumed url blocking would work for all routers.

    This the help from my Asus "For example, enter "XXX" in the list The URL filter will block the http://www.abcXXX.com, http://www.XXXbbb.com and so on"

    Clearly that's not the case for all.

    I might need to spend a bit of time to try and expand those URLs I posted.


  • countryman2countryman2 Member Posts: 48
    I asked Support for the IP address but I now see that request has been deleted.  Rather pointless as I can still find out the IP address with a bit of effort.  I really detest the 'Nanny Knows Best' attitude.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,996 ✭✭✭
    edited April 23
    I asked Support for the IP address but I now see that request has been deleted.  Rather pointless as I can still find out the IP address with a bit of effort.  I really detest the 'Nanny Knows Best' attitude.
    I guffawed when I saw that posting. 

    It’s possible that ‘Nanny knows best’ because she has actually read the T&Cs relating to the use of YouView boxes, which it would seem you haven’t.

    Not, of course, that we are all entirely averse to a bit of sub rosa rule-breaking, but we don’t generally announce this on the Community, let alone ask the powers that be to collude with us on it 😛
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
Sign In or Register to comment.