Talk Talk box not playing recordings

ViciVici Member Posts: 3
Yesterday the box ceased to record or play back existing recordings. Recording look OK but on pressing play there is a black screen. Software is up to date. Tried reboot of Internet and TV box. Each reboot allows one watch then it fails again until rebooted again. Box has 36% capacity.
«1

Comments

  • Stevef_fr8ysStevef_fr8ys Member, Super User Posts: 504 ✭✭
    edited 4 September 2021, 8:51PM

    Have you tried a soft reset? To do this hold the power button on the front for around 10 seconds and the box should restart. Alternatively, you can turn off from the back and power back on.

    If this doesn’t work then have you tried a YouView Maintenance Reset (https://community.talktalk.co.uk/t5/Articles/How-to-find-maintenance-mode/ta-p/1429347)?

    Try the Factory Reset keep recording option.

    You will then need to reset your personal settings (such as parental controls / Set antenna Out to On in Settings: Picture and Sound / Surround Sound etc.) and also reset your scheduled recordings if they dont repopulate (might be worth taking a note of future recordings before doing this so you don’t miss any).

    If all else fails then try a full factory reset from the settings menu. You will lose your recordings but it does seem to cure some boxes.

    If this does not work and if you are still in contract with TalkTalk then post on their forum as you may be eligible for a replacement box. Tell them what you have tried and the outcome.

    https://community.talktalk.co.uk/t5/TV/bd-p/116

    Please note that if you are eligible for a new box, TalkTalk now only supply non recordable ones., So it's best to try all alternatives if recording is important to you.

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,002 ✭✭✭
    @Vici @Stevef_fr8ys

    Could these be recordings from the service that TalkTalk just recently shut down?

    I think these won’t play any more.

    Or are they recordings off broadcast channels?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭
    edited 4 September 2021, 9:06PM
    Not aware that TalkTalk have shut down anything other than their TV Store rental service?
  • Stevef_fr8ysStevef_fr8ys Member, Super User Posts: 504 ✭✭
    edited 4 September 2021, 9:39PM
    @Roy, its only the TalkTalk store that has been shut down and you could not record these. Purchased films will continue to play for the time being.

    I'm seeing a number of boxes reporting this fault on the TalkTalk forum, but many are being solved by a factory reset, some by maintenance mode.

    Some don't recover and need replacing, hence my comment on posting on their forum for a replacement box.

    Still no date being given on when Boosts will end, which will cause playback issues.
  • ViciVici Member Posts: 3
    Thank you for your help. Sadly this did not work, but I appreciate your guidance. 
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,170 ✭✭✭
    What are your recordings of, Vici? Freeview or internet Boost channels?
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • Stevef_fr8ysStevef_fr8ys Member, Super User Posts: 504 ✭✭
    Visionman said:
    What are your recordings of, Vici? Freeview or internet Boost channels?
    Not sure of the relevance of this question, as it's a well known fault on the TalkTalk forum, and it can either be cleared by resets, or not as the case maybe.
    @Vici could not clear it, so another factory reset may help. Other than that a request for a replacement, non recording, box on the TalkTalk forum, is another option.
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭

    ... a request for a replacement, non recording, box on the TalkTalk forum, is another option.
    That would solve the problem  :D:D:D  
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 742 ✭✭
    edited 6 September 2021, 8:09PM
    Er no it wouldn't....
    the op clearly has and enjoys a recordable box.
    Why the hell should he accept a non recording box??
    My advice....ditch TalkTalk and latch on to an isp that can deliver on the recordable box front....OK that really only means BT but hey you could do worse. 
    BT hub is light years ahead of TalkTalks effort and the tv boxes really are the next level. 
    And no I don't work for BT but I do speak from many years experience as a customer. 
    Ignore this if you disagree. 
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭
    @kodikid Wow, out of all the opinions you have posted here, that's a hell of a thing to say? And do what?
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 742 ✭✭
    edited 6 September 2021, 8:17PM
    The point I was trying to make ( ok pathetically) is just because TalkTalk no longer offer recordable boxes the op shouldn't have to settle for a vastly inferior box.
    Obviously Sky and Vermin (no spelling errors there) supply boxes but if he wants a youview machine then BT is his only option these days. 
    Ignore this if you disagree. 
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭
    Ah, so a recordable YouView box from BT is the only alternative, at their rates? You're not on commission are you?  😉
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 742 ✭✭
    Obviously he can go down the retail route. 
    But I'm assuming (always a fatal mistake, ) that the op is subscribed  to TalkTalk. 
    BT was an alternative if he traditionally subscribes. 
    Ignore this if you disagree. 
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭
    I am assuming so too. But I wouldn't deign to recommend an alternative ISP as a solution to this issue, least of all BT.  


  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 742 ✭✭
    Fair comment. 
    Ignore this if you disagree. 
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭
    kodikid said:
    Er no it wouldn't....
    the op clearly has and enjoys a recordable box.
    Why the hell should he accept a non recording box??
    Sense of humour failure there @kodikid ;)
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,779 admin
    Vici said:
    Thank you for your help. Sadly this did not work, but I appreciate your guidance. 
    Hi @Vici
    Had you tried a full factory reset on your box or just a maintenance mode reset which keeps your recordings? If you've only tried the maintenance mode version, we'd recommend trying the full factory reset as this should fix the issue however you will lose your recordings.
    More info here: https://support.youview.com/youview-box/box-and-remote/using-maintenance-mode/
    Thanks,
    Sarah 
  • ViciVici Member Posts: 3
    Thank you everybody. To clear up all the questions, I have a Talk Talk subscription, with Freeview only, no Boosts. I like a recordable box and wouldn't want a service without one. I tried the maintenance keep recordings reset so I guess I need to try the lose recordings option. Will try it over the weekend after I've written down everything I'll have to find on the catch up services. It's a bit frustrating if this is a known issue that there is no fix. I'm pretty sure this happened a few years ago and Talk Talk fixed it with no loss. Thank you everybody who has offered advice. Much appreciated.
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,170 ✭✭✭
    edited 8 September 2021, 5:23AM
    IF you have to lose your recordings through a full factory reset and it still doesn't work, you could always buy a YouView recorder second hand. I'd recommend the T2000 or T4000 (which is also HD & 4K UHD).
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • Stevef_fr8ysStevef_fr8ys Member, Super User Posts: 504 ✭✭
    Vici said:
    Thank you for your help. Sadly this did not work, but I appreciate your guidance. 
    I understood by this comment you had tried all my suggestions including the full factory reset.

    This normally works, but not 100% guarantee.

    As I said, TalkTalk no longer offer recordable boxes, so it's your best option to get recording function working again.

    If it does not work and you want a replacement box for the catchup facilities, post on the TalkTalk forum, or follow @Visionman 's advice regarding a replacement YouView box, but as you don't use TalkTalk's boosts, there are other alternatives out there too.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,002 ✭✭✭
    @Vici

    Hope you can conquer your problem!
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 742 ✭✭
    edited 8 September 2021, 11:21AM
    Roy said:
    @Vici

    Hope you can conquer your problem!
    Not sure what horse chestnuts have got to do with it, do you mean apple tv?
    Ignore this if you disagree. 
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭
    edited 8 September 2021, 2:55PM
    #posted in wrong place, sorry 😣 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,002 ✭✭✭
    kodikid said:
    Roy said:
    @Vici

    Hope you can conquer your problem!
    Not sure what horse chestnuts have got to do with it, do you mean apple tv?
    Nope 😛
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭
    Come on @Roy you're not getting the pip, are you?
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,002 ✭✭✭
    edited 8 September 2021, 2:03PM
    redchiz said:
    Come on @Roy you're not getting the pip, are you?
    @redchiz

    No pips in my Caesar salad; that’s a classic mistake to make 😛
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭
    John Cleese would be proud of you.


  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,002 ✭✭✭
    redchiz said:
    John Cleese would be proud of you.
    If it hadn’t been a Waldorf salad, yes indeed, but otherwise that’s Fawlty logic.

    No-one is getting any nearer, though, are they?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭
    Chickened out?
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,002 ✭✭✭
    redchiz said:
    Chickened out?
    More to do with Turkey 😛
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
Sign In or Register to comment.