Players not loading

marglemargle Member Posts: 2
I have a first generation, BT-branded YouView box. Yesterday, all the players (iPlayer, ITV Hub, etc.) now fail to load. I have tried all the recommended fixes on this site, without success. Has something happened to disable on-demand players on my box?
Device information:
Manufacturer: Humax
Model: DTRT1000
Variant: 80B08500


Comments

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,527 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 June 2022, 12:33PM
    margle said:
    I have a first generation, BT-branded YouView box. Yesterday, all the players (iPlayer, ITV Hub, etc.) now fail to load. I have tried all the recommended fixes on this site, without success. Has something happened to disable on-demand players on my box?
    Device information:
    Manufacturer: Humax
    Model: DTRT1000
    Variant: 80B08500
    Greetings @margle and welcome to the Community!

    The itv Hub will no longer work on the DTR-T10x0s, but iPlayer, All4, and My5 still should.

    What fixes have you tried?

    - Checking in Settings that your box is still connected to the internet? 
    - The 8-second reset?

    - Any Maintenance Mode resets?

    https://support.youview.com/youview-box/on-demand-players-apps/on-demand-player-or-app-not-working/

    Please let us know which of the above you have tried.

    But T1000s are getting a bit old now, and a lot of them are failing. And even when they are still as good as new, they won’t do what the current boxes will do - no remote app, no Amazon Prime, and recently, no itv Hub.

    Do you have this box on a subscription to BT? If so, call them up, and they will send you a brand new Pro box as a replacement.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,527 ✭✭✭
    edited 1 July 2022, 10:24PM
    @margle

    Rest assured there is no need to post the same query under separate headings; your post will be seen no matter which heading it is under.

    If you find you have something you want to add to the first posting, you can click the little down arrow top right and Edit it.

    Otherwise, please be patient; we are largely all volunteers here, and will respond, but in our own good time.

    (Anybody with a reply to this, please let’s concentrate it under @margle’s first post only.)

    Or even better, @Louise Murdoch, can you please delete or merge this thread?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,527 ✭✭✭
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • Louise MurdochLouise Murdoch Administrator Posts: 130 admin
    Hi @margle

    Welcome to the community. I've merged your threads, as per @Roy's post we can see all threads in all sections (Support, Community, Announcements etc.) so sticking to one category is fine to do :smile: . And if you do wish to make amendments to your threads, there is the Edit feature.

    Thank you,
    Louise
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 1,046 ✭✭
    Personally I wouldn’t bother. 

    I have the latest youview box and very rarely if ever watch apps on it.

    For around £20 (especially with prime day on the horizon) you can treat yourself to a streaming stick.

    Way more choices (Disney, apple etc) and most have 4K, plus voice  control. 

    They truly are Next level when it comes to streaming. 
    Deacon Blue hit from October 88
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,527 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 June 2022, 4:38PM
    @kodikid

    You may be missing the point here, though. What are the odds, with all of the players not working, that the internet is still working on this box?

    And if not, if this cannot be rectified, it’s pretty much Game Over for the box 😢
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 1,046 ✭✭
    No not really 
    Without Internet it's still a perfectly functioning freeview pvr.

    Deacon Blue hit from October 88
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,527 ✭✭✭
    kodikid said:
    No not really 
    Without Internet it's still a perfectly functioning freeview pvr.
    If black tiles are your preferred style, sure
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • marglemargle Member Posts: 2
    Thanks for all the comments. The YouView box is definitely connected to Fast Fibre internet. The HD TV is fine, so I have decided to buy an Amazon Fire TV Stick for players and apps. I am hoping that the YouView box will sill be able to record Freeview TV without being connected to the internet.
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 1,046 ✭✭
    Hold fire on the fire stick. 
    Prime day is nearly here and they traditionally heavily discount all Amazon products. 
    Deacon Blue hit from October 88
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,527 ✭✭✭
    margle said:
    Thanks for all the comments. The YouView box is definitely connected to Fast Fibre internet. The HD TV is fine, so I have decided to buy an Amazon Fire TV Stick for players and apps. I am hoping that the YouView box will still be able to record Freeview TV without being connected to the internet.
    @margle

    I think you mean the box is definitely connected to the router?

    This is what a box connected to the internet shows on Settings/Broadband:-


    This is a box not connected:-

    Which does your screen look like on Settings/Broadband?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
Sign In or Register to comment.